OKP Premiere: Shayna Steele – ‘Rise’ LP [Stream]

Karas Lamb Karas Lamb writes and digs for tunes you haven’t heard…
Vocalist Shayna Steele Follows Her Appearance On Snarky Puppy's 'The Family Dinner Vol. 1' LP With A Full Stream Of Her Sophomore 'Rise' LP One Day Ahead Of The Project's Release Via Ropeadope Records. https://www.okayplayer.com/wp-content/uploads/okp-black.png #https://okayplayer-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/(.*)# => https://okayplayer.com/wp-content/uploads/okp-black.png #https://okayplayer-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/(.*)# => https://www.okayplayer.com/wp-content/uploads/okp-black.png #https://okayplayer-wpengine.netdna-ssl.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/(.*)# => https://www.okayplayer.com/wp-content/uploads/okp-black.png

Vocalist Shayna Steele serves up a treat with a full stream of her forthcoming Rise LP just one day ahead of the project’s release via Ropeadope Records. Steele’s sophomore project follows her earth-shattering performance on Snarky Puppy‘s The Family Dinner Vol. 1 LP. The highly-anticipated project packs in an all-star lineup of musicians led by Christian McBride, Marcus Miller, Robert Randolph and David Cook. Billed as “hard-rocking” and “reflective“, the project is an emotionally dense journey through Steele’s range, versatility and varied influences – from jazz to gospel, soul and folk – that encapsulates all of the possibility brimming from the American musical canon according to the highs and lows of her powerhouse vocal. Check the tracks below to stream the Rise LP. Pre-order the project via Bandcamp. Scroll down to check out the project’s personnel. Purchase tickets for Shayna Steele’s album release party this Thursday in NYC at Rockwood Music Hall via Ticketfly. Stay tuned for more from Shayna Steele.

‘RISE’ LP Personnel:
David Cook: piano, Fender Rhodes, Hammond B3, arranger
Robin Macatangay & Errol Cooney: guitars
Marcus Miller: electric bass
Christian McBride: acoustic bass
Eric Harland: drums
Bashiri Johnson: percussion
Andy Snitzer: alto saxophone (on 3)
Sachal Vasandani: vocal (on 4)
Gregoire Maret: harmonica (on 4)
Robert Randolph: pedal steel guitar (on 11)

Produced by Matt Pierson
Recorded and mixed by Chris Allen at Sear Sound, NYC
Mastered by Mark Wilder at Battery Studios, NYC

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us