* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

DJ Shadow - Total Breakdown [Archival Compilation]

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn,

Wow. How's that for an archival release? DJ Shadow AKA sampling's Vito Corleone has announced that he will be unravelling a collection of tunes from the immediate pre-Endtroducing... era. That's sort of like Michelangelo telling us exactly how he painted the Sistine Chapel. Or like MJ sending out his former training schedule to all his e-mail-contacts. While that might be a tiny bit of stretch, it's still exciting to see a compilation that picks up where the 4-Track Era releases left off (which focused on the years between 1990 and 1992) and lets us hear Shadow's experimentations on the Akai MPC from 1992-1996. The tape is also said to include instrumental tracks from the scratched 1994 EP that Shadow had planned to record with Gift of Gab. Check out the tracklist after the jump, scroll down for a download that only costs you an email-address, and listen to "Dreams of a Piece" here.

Total Breakdown: Hidden Transmissions From the MPC Era, 1992-1996 tracklist:

01 Intropy (Original Version)

02 Vee in Detroit

03 Dreams of a Piece

04 The Not-So-Quiet Storm

05 Fast Rap Fanfare

06 Intensely Hitting

07 Mystical With Solo

08 Alright

09 Don't Try It

10 From the Old School

11 Freddi's Popcorn

12 Quickstep

13 Movin' On (Gab Demo 1)

14 Falling Up

15 Mellow But Chunky

16 Total Breakdown (Gab Demo 2)

17 Heavy Mood

18 Affectations

19 Perilous Journey (Gab Demo 3)

20 Aye

21 Brittle But Magic

22 Atmospheric Disturbances

23 Swimming Upstream (Gab Demo 4)

24 Up for Grabs Bonus Tracks:

25 Give Up the Drums

26 Slow Poke

27 Vortex

spotted at PF