Steve Arrington Announces First Album in 11 Years, ft. Knxwledge, Mndsgn, and More

zo Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…
Steve Arrington Announces First Album in 11 Years, ft. Knxwledge, Mndsgn, and More
Source: Stones Throw

The heavily-sampled Ohio funk legend’s new album is set to arrive in September.

Steve Arrington is readying the release of his first solo project in over a decade.

Arriving on September 18th via Stones Throw, Down to The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions wrangles the venerable LA indie label’s roster of producers and peripheral talents to welcome the Ohio funk vet to his new home. The official tracklist (see below) shows contributions from Knxwledge, Mndsgn, Devin Morrison, J. Rocc, Jerry Paper, and more. The album announcement arrives with the buoyantly aspirational and rhodes-soaked lead single “Keep Dreamin’,” produced by Shibo.

All of it arrives on the heels of a gradual return to the world. Earlier this year, Arrington lent his distinctly elastic vox to Thundercat’s “Black Squalls,” sharing the mic with Steve Lacy and, on the extended album edit, Childish Gambino. Previously, Arrington released a collaborative project with Dam-Funk in 2013, following it with outtakes pried from his own vault on the 2014 compilation Way Out (80-84.) His last solo project landed back in 2009 with the self-released, Pure Thang. 

Hear Steve Arrington’s new single “Keep Dreamin'” below. Scroll on for the album’s full tracklist and head over to Stones Throw to pre-order your copy of the album on vinyl today. Hold tight for Arrington’s next transmission in the weeks ahead.

Down to The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions Tracklist:

1. The Joys Of Love (prod. Mndsgn, Devin Morrison)
2. Make A Difference (prod. DJ Harrison)
3. Soulful I Need That In My Life (prod. Jamma D)
4. Keep Dreamin’ (prod. Shibo)
5. Love Knows (prod. Brian Ellis)
6. My Favorite Swing (prod. Apifera)
7. Good Mood (prod. Jerry Paper)
8. Love Is Gone (prod. Knxwledge)
9. Work On It (prod. Shibo)
10. You’re Not Ready (prod. Gifted & Blessed)
11. Make Ya Say Yie (prod. Knxwledge)
12. All I Wanna Do (prod. J.Rocc)
13. It’s Alright (prod. Benedek)

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us