* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Georgia Anne Muldrow Announces New Album with a Soul-Jazz-Anchored Instrumental
Georgia Anne Muldrow Announces New Album with a Soul-Jazz-Anchored Instrumental
Photo by Tim Mosenfelder via Getty Images

Georgia Anne Muldrow Announces New Album with a Heavy Dose of Soul Jazz

"Mufaro's Garden" is the first single off Muldrow's upcoming instrumental album, VWETO III.

An even decade since launching her beat-driven album series, VWETO, Georgia Anne Muldrow is clearing the way for a third installment.

VWETO III was announced today with the release of the soul-jazz-anchored instrumental, "Mufaro's Garden." Out on May 21st via FORESEEN Entertainment and Muldrow’s Epistrophik Peach Sound imprint, the 17-song project is entirely produced by Muldrow and features contributions from Ayun Bassa and Shana Jensen. "VWETO III is intended for movement," Muldrow said in a press release. "It’s to be played when you birth yourself back outside after a long introspective period to get the things you need. It intends for you to be your own superhero and wants to be your theme for power," the singer added. 

Alongside the album's release, VWETO III's cover art, designed by Cape Town's Breeze Yoko, will be auctioned off for charity as an NFT. 50% of proceeds from the sale will be donated to Critical Resistance, an organization working to abolish the US prison system. You can place your bid via Rarible or OpenSea.

The upcoming album is a follow-up to Muldrow's stellar 2020 project, Mama, You Can Bet!, which was released under the pseudonym, Jyoti. The previous installment of VWETO dropped in 2019, a year that also saw the release of Black Love & War, a collaborative album with Declaime, featuring Oh No, Aloe Blacc, LaToiya Williams, and others.

Hear Georgia Anne Muldrow's new single "Mufaro's Garden" below. Scroll on for the full VWETO III tracklist and hold tight for her next transmission.

VWETO III Tracklist:

1. Old Jack Swing

2. Synthmania Rock

3. Ayun Vegas ft. Ayun Bassa

4. Passin Ooout !

5. Slave Revoltalleway Boom

6. Unforgettable

7. Throwback Baps

8. Slow Drag

9. Shana’s Back! ft Shana Jensen

10. Mufaro’s Garden

11. Love Call Groove

12. Ghostride

13. Boom Bap Is My Homegirl

14. Action Groove

15. Grungepiece

16. Afro AF

17. Yoself