* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Fat Tony Announces New Album 'Wake Up,' Shares New Song
Fat Tony Announces New Album 'Wake Up,' Shares New Song
Source: Orienteer

Fat Tony Announces New Album 'Wake Up,' Shares New Song

Fat Tony Announces New Album 'Wake Up,' Shares New Song Photo Credit: Meredith Truax

The album, which is made in collaboration with Taydex, is being released via Carpark Records.

Fat Tony has announced a new album. Titled Wake Up, the project is made in collaboration with Taydex (who produced tracks from Tony's MacGregor Park album) and serves as the follow-up to 2018's 10,000 Hours.

Listen: To Fat Tony & Brady Watt's New Song "Runnin'"

Inspired by De La Soul's Buhloone Mindstate and Ghostface Killah's Supreme ClienteleWake Up came out of a five-track EP Tony was working on with Taydex in December 2018. The pair put the project on hold for a few months and revisited it back in April 2019 when Tony returned to Los Angeles from New York following the end of VICE LIVE.

"I thought it would be more interesting to make it an album than an EP, and that the time we spent apart before making the second batch of songs would make it a more interesting and diverse body of work," Tony said in a press release.

Along with the announcement, Tony has shared a track from Wake Up titled "Godly." Featuring Negashi Armada on the hook, the track begins with distorted guitar before transitioning into a bouncy and menacing beat that Tony uses to reflect on his rise.

Wake Up will be released February 7, 2020, via Carpark Records. Along with Negashi Armada, the album will feature Sophia Pfister, Dai Burger, Clarence James, and Revenge Wife. A track list for the album can be viewed below.

Wake Up track list

1. Get Out My Way feat. Sophia Pfister

2. Godly feat. Negashi Armada

3. Big Ego feat. Sophia Pfister and Dai Burger

4. Magnifique

5. Run It Up feat. Sophia Pfister

6. Omaha feat. Clarence James

7. Wake Up

8. Cut That

9. Make It feat.  Revenge Wife