Check Out "Fast Learner," the Lead Single From Shabazz Palaces' New Album 'The Don of Diamond Dreams'

The new album arrives on April 17.

It's been nearly three years since Shabazz Palaces released their last albums. In 2017, the group dropped Quazarz: Born on a Gangster Star and Quazarz vs. The Jealous Machines. On Wednesday afternoon, the group officially announced their return.

The band's chosen "Fast Learner" as the lead single from their upcoming album, The Don of Diamond Dreams. The track features Purple Tape Nate, who recently collaborated with the group on the Jealous Machines cut "Love in the Time of Kanye." Stream the new single above and view the album's tracklist below.

WATCH: Shabazz Palaces Release an Out of This World Visual for "Dawn in Luxor"

In addition to the two 2017 albums, Shabazz Palaces' Ishmael Butler teamed up with Daniel Lopatin for a project called 319. In the meantime, Butler's son, Lil Tracy, has become a respected musician in his own right. Presumably, The Don of Diamond Dreams will at least partially cover themes of fatherhood.

“The funny thing is," Butler told Pitchfork in 2018, "I feel like I sound like him in some of my newer stuff that I’ve been making. My daughters will tell you that he’s like a spitting image of me, or he moves like me, or he sounds like me. We are each other, in the literal way, but also artistically and also historically...when we have kids, they live a version of our lives."

In addition to Butler, the group enlists singer/keyboardist Darrius Willrich, drummer Carlos Niño, saxophonist Carlos Overall, and bass player Evan Flory-Barnes.


  1. Portal North: Panthera
  2. Ad Ventures
  3. Fast Learner (Feat. Purple Tape Nate)
  4. Wet
  5. Chocolate Souffle
  6. Portal South: Micah
  7. Bad Bitch Walking (Feat. Stas THEE Boss)
  8. Money Yoga (Feat. Darrius)
  9. Thanking the Girls
  10. Reg Walks By the Looking Glass (Feat. Carlos Overall)

H/T: Pitchfork

Sign Up To Our Newsletter