J Dilla ft. Snoop Dogg & Kokane - "Gangsta Boogie" (prod. Hi-Tek)

Dr. Dre Just Premiered J Dilla's "Gangsta Boogie" f. Snoop Dogg & Kokane [prod. Hi-Tek]

Watch Nas Tease His J Dilla & Madlib Collaboration "The Sickness" Live At SXSW

J Dilla’s previously unreleased track “Gangsta Boogie” featuring Snoop Dogg and Kokane was just debuted by no less august a rap personage than Dr. Dre himself, who used his Apple Radio show on Beats 1 as the vessel by which to pour this divine concoction of gin, juice and Faygo Redpop across the thirsty, Dilla-starved landscape. With just weeks between us and the official release of Dilla‘s long-lost solo vocal album, The Diary, anticipation is sky-high. Especially with that extra-potent “Introduction” already floating around the internets and NaS teasing his own JayLib collaboration “The Sickness” at SXSW just a few weeks back. Today, however, we bring you no teases and no lo-fi torture, as Dr. Dre deals in only the cleanest headphone-ready audio for his radio spot The Pharmacy.

If there was any doubt that The Diary was a major addition to the Dilla canon, this settles it. “Gangsta Boogie” unites swaggerific lines from Jay Dee with the seamless strut of Snoop Dogg and Kokane, all of which is done with a hard-knocking g-funk suite from the one and only, Hi-Tek. Tek seems to pay explicit tribute to his fellow beat-genius, putting his own touch on those clap-on/clap off drums we know and love, here punctuating a cripwalking synthesized bassline as well as an opening salvo of super-tuff Dilla bars. Physicists have been hypothesizing the existence of a Unified Funk Theory for some time now but for the first time we have credible, officially released evidence; the missing gold links, if you will, between P-Funk, G-Funk and, well, D-Funk (not to mention some buckeye state stank). Catch a whiff  below, along with the full track list for J Dilla’s The Diary. Pre-order your copy on iTunes today ahead of its official April 15th release via Mass Appeal Records. You can also head over to Rappcats to cop the album on wax.

The Diary Track List:
1. The Introduction
2. The Anthem feat. Frank & Dank
3. Fight Club feat. Nottz & Boogie
4. The Shining Pt. 1 (Diamonds) feat. Kenny Wray
5. The Shining Pt. 2 (Ice)
6. Trucks
7. Gangsta Boogie feat. Snoop Dogg & Kokane
8. Drive Me Wild
9. Give Them What They Want
10. The Creep (The O)
11. The Ex feat. Bilal
12. So Far
13. Fuck The Police
14. The Diary
15. Bonus Track 1 [iTunes Exclusive]
16. Bonus Track 2 [iTunes Exclusive]

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media