Alice Smith displays here jazz hands

Grammy kid Alice Smith is one of our favorite singers (and, coincidentally, favorite people) in life. Which is why this brand-new single “Ocean” has got us in a good mood this Thursday afternoon, even in the absence of a real ocean. Although in some ways projecting a very different vibe than the songs on her debut album For Lovers, Dreamers & Me (did we mention it was nominated for a Grammy?) the melodic approach is the same. In a word: range. Smith’s vocal prowess allows the song to morph from moody, even smoldering, guitar ballad to lilting Island pop on the chorus that is catchy to the point of being, dare I say? Rihanna-ish. Yet never is there a wrong note, sonically or emotionally. “Ocean” is the second leak from Alice’s forthcoming sophomore LP, titled simply She and slated for release on March 19 via Rainwater/Thirty Tigers.  If you missed the first leak “Cabaret” (I think I did) find it below as well, along with a tracklisting for the new LP. If you’re here in New York, Smith starts a live residency at Rockwood Music Hall at the end of this month–find dates here.

She tracklist:
1. Cabaret Prelude
2. Cabaret
3. Ocean
4. Another Love
5. The One
6. Shot
7. Loyalty
8. With You
9. Fool For You
10. Be Easy
11. She


  • Greig Jatoo

    Ocean is the best song I’ve heard in a decade. Love it!

  • I absolutely love Alice Smith and, even though I didn’t think it was possible, she just keeps getting better. I can’t wait for this album to drop.