5 New Hip-Hop Albums You Should Be Listening To (Week of December 23)

Jaelani Turner-Williams Jaelani Turner-Williams is a contributing news writer for Okayplayer with…
Photo Credit: Akhira Montague

MIKE, Sauce Walka, Lil B, YoungBoy Never Broke Again and Hotboii return with new hip-hop heat in time for New Music Friday.

Just in time for the holidays, a new bundle of hip-hop releases have dropped. Less than a decade into his career, New York emcee MIKE has unveiled his tenth album Beware of the Monkey, with guest appearances from Jadasea, Klein, King Carter and reggae legend Sister Nancy. The LP also follows MIKE’s project with Wiki and The Alchemist, titled One More, which dropped in November.

Houston rapper Sauce Walka continues his Ghetto Gospel series with a third installment, Ghetto Gospel 3. The album comes after Sauce Walka released three projects this year, including Al Rage WalkaSauce Beach Florida, and Sauce PWA.

Bay Area rapper and internet personality Lil B dropped his fourth album of 2022, Afrikantis, which follows Frozen, The Frozen Tape and Thraxx Kiss.

Orlando native Hotboii brings the heat with Blinded By Death (Deluxe), five months after dropping the LP’s original version.

MIKE – Beware of the Monkey

MIKE offers his most meditative album yet with Beware of the Monkey, reminding dedicated listeners of his signature stream-of-conscious flow.

Standouts: “Eczema,” “No Curse Lifted,” “Stop Worry!”


YoungBoy Never Broke Again – Lost Files

YoungBoy Never Broke Again drops off new 21-track mixtape Lost Files, his latest effort since squashing a beef with once-rival Fredo Bang and signing a new deal with Motown.

Standouts: “Broken Hearted,” “4KT Freestyle”

Sauce Walka – Ghetto Gospel 3

Sauce Walka maintains the drip on Ghetto Gospel 3, tagging Babyface Ray, Jackboy and Sauce Woodwinnin.

Standouts: “Here I Am,” “Black Kings,” “Peace Treaties”

Lil B – Afrikantis

Lil B pays homage to the diaspora and the West Coast across 14 tracks.

Standouts: “Kim,” “Eurasia,” “Del the Funky Homosapien”

HotBoii – Blinded By Death (Deluxe)

Hotboii reintroduces his third album with eight new tracks.

Standouts: “In My Field,” “Tell Me Bout It,” “Live Life Die Faster”

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us