Stream Steve Arrington’s First Album in 10 Years, ft. Knxwledge, Mndsgn, and More

The funk icon’s first album in over a decade pairs him with a stalwart roster of Stones Throw producers.

Steve Arrington is back with his first solo outing in more than a decade.

On Friday, the former frontman of Ohio funk legends, Slave, released Down To The Lowest Term: The Soul Sessions, his second studio album with venerable west coast indie, Stones Throw Records. On his new project, Arrington sheds the analog electronics, pairing himself with the label’s roster of funk faithfuls to create a whole new sound and chapter in an already innovative career. The new album features Arrington’s cartoonishly cool and elastic vocals over productions from Knxwledge, Mndsgn, J. Rocc, Jerry Paper, DJ Harrison, and other Stones Throw adjacent producers wrangled by the label’s chief, Peanut Butter Wolf.

Down To The Lowest Terms follows an appearance on Thundercat‘s latest album, It Is What It Is (alongside Steve Lacy and Childish Gambino on “Black Qualls,”) 2014’s Way Out (80-84,) a collection of essential outtakes from his gilded solo era and Higher, the 2013 collaborative project with Dam-Funk, which marked his Stones Throw debut.

Stream Steve Arrington’s new album, Down To The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions, below and grab your copy on vinyl via Stones Throw today. Scroll on for the album’s full tracklist and production credits. Hold tight for his next transmission.

Down to The Lowest Terms: The Soul Sessions Tracklist:

1. The Joys Of Love (prod. Mndsgn, Devin Morrison)
2. Make A Difference (prod. DJ Harrison)
3. Soulful I Need That In My Life (prod. Jamma D)
4. Keep Dreamin’ (prod. Shibo)
5. Love Knows (prod. Brian Ellis)
6. My Favorite Swing (prod. Apifera)
7. Good Mood (prod. Jerry Paper)
8. Love Is Gone (prod. Knxwledge)
9. Work On It (prod. Shibo)
10. You’re Not Ready (prod. Gifted & Blessed)
11. Make Ya Say Yie (prod. Knxwledge)
12. All I Wanna Do (prod. J.Rocc)
13. It’s Alright (prod. Benedek)



Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers music.

Published by

Recent Posts

Memphis Police Releases Bodycam Footage of Deadly Tyre Nichols Beating

The city of Memphis has released four videos showing the beating that killed Tyre Nichols… Read More

January 27, 2023

Best Songs of The Week: ft. Kari Faux, Lil Yachty and More

The Round-Up is Okayplayer’s weekly playlist of the best songs in the worlds of hip-hop… Read More

January 27, 2023

‘The Simpsons,’ ‘Family Guy’ and ‘Bob’s Burgers’ Gets Extension for Two Additional Seasons

Fox has given two-season renewals to animated favorites The Simpsons, Family Guy and Bob's Burgers… Read More

January 27, 2023

Consequence Says He’s ‘Disgusted’ With Pusha T Cutting Ties With Kanye West

In an interview with The Art of Dialogue, longtime G.O.O.D. Music act Consequence accused Pusha… Read More

January 27, 2023

A Book On Erykah Badu Album ‘New Amerykah Part Two’ Is Coming in 2024

Written by Karmeryn Alexa Carter, a book on 2020 Erykah Badu album New Amerykah Part Two… Read More

January 27, 2023

7 New Hip-Hop & Neo-Soul Albums You Should Be Listening To (Week of January 27)

Styles P and Lil Yachty have dropped projects on this New Music Friday. Additional releases… Read More

January 27, 2023