Categories: Music

Jay-Z ‘The Black Album’ Meets Smashing Pumpkins in New Mash-Up

The album features Jay-Z vocals over various Smashing Pumpkins tracks.

Over the years, the works of Jay-Z  have been poked, prodded and mashed up countless times. The most notable example is Danger Mouse‘s The Grey Album. The project mashed up The Black Album with The Beatles’ 1968 album The White Album. Many believe that project still stands out in the realm of mashups from the early 2000s.

On Tuesday, Maine producer Spose dropped Marcy Projects and the Infinite Sadness, mashing up The Black Album with tracks from Smashing Pumpkins’ 1995 album Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness. View the full tracklist below.

For the record, the project includes songs from Smashing Pumpkins albums other than Mellon Collie. The 1995 album is just the band’s only project to top the Billboard 200. The album earned seven Grammy nominations in 1997, including Album of the Year and Record of the Year. The accompanying videos earned nine MTV Music Video Awards, including eight for the “Tonight, Tonight,” video alone. Stream both The Black Album and Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness on all major digital streaming platforms.

Download the project for free in exchange for your email address, or just stream the project on Vimeo.

Jay-Z + Smashing Pumpkins – Marcy Projects and the Infinite Sadness

  1. Interlude/Mellon Collie and the Infinite Sadness
  2. Change Clothes/I Am One
  3. Public Service Announcement/Cherub Rock
  4. Allure/Tonight, Tonight
  5. Threat/Mayonnaise
  6. Encore/X.Y.U.
  7. Moment of Clarity/Today
  8. 99 Problems/Porcelina of the Vast Oceans
  9. What More Can I Say/Hummer
  10. Justify My Thug/Ava Adore
  11. Lucifer/The Aeroplane Flies High
  12. Dirt Off Your Shoulder/Eye
  13. December 4/Heavy Metal Machine
  14. My First Song/Marquis in Spades
Torry Threadcraft

Torry Threadcraft is a writer who covers music, sports, and culture. You can find his daily ramblings and culinary takes at @dreadcraft.

Published by
Torry Threadcraft

Recent Posts

Snoop Dogg, Ice Cube, E-40 & Too $hort — Aka Mount Westmore — Drop Their First Video

The debut single from Mount Westmore has officially been released. Four of the greatest rappers… Read More

October 20, 2021

Erykah Badu Previews ‘BADUBOTRON’ Radio Show with a Funk-Fueled Mix

Erykah Badu spins an hour-plus of deep funk, soul, jazz, and r&b, in the debut… Read More

October 20, 2021

Dave Chappelle Gets The Last Laugh

With every piece of backlash, Dave Chappelle is willfully mythologizing himself as a “victim” of… Read More

October 20, 2021

A Crypto Company Bought the One-of-a-Kind Wu-Tang Clan Album

Crypto company PleasrDAO bought Once Upon A Time In Shaolin for $4 million. The company… Read More

October 20, 2021

Netflix CEO Admits He “Screwed Up,” But Not with His Support for Dave Chappelle

Ted Sarandos faces the criticism Netflix received over the content of Dave Chappelle's new stand-up… Read More

October 20, 2021

Summer Walker Shares “Ex for a Reason” Video Featuring City Girls’ JT

“Ex for a Reason” is the first single from Summer Walker’s upcoming album Still Over It.… Read More

October 19, 2021