Common Announces 13th Studio Album with New Song “Say Peace” ft. Black Thought

The Chicago rapper rallies Robert Glasper, Karriem Riggins, Black Thought and PJ Morton for his new album, A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1.

Common is bookending the Trump administration with his third album of the last four years.

Today, the Chicago rapper announced his 13th studio album, A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1 will arrive this Friday, October 30th. The reveal is paired with the fiery, afro-funk-fueled single, “Say Peace,” featuring a steel-toed verse from Black Thought. According to Rolling Stone, the album was recorded with a live band, featuring Robert Glasper on keys, Karriem Riggins on drums, and Burniss Travis on bass. It also features a contribution from PJ Morton. In a statement, Common told Rolling StoneA Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1 “is affirmation. It’s recognition. It’s elevation. It’s music to go with a movement. Because the truth is, there is still so much work to do. Regardless of the outcome of the election, we need to make sure things do not return to the status quo.”

A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1, in title alone, suggests at least a sequel. But it follows 2019’s Let Love, which was accompanied by (and shared a name with) the rapper’s memoir. It featured appearances from Daniel Caesar, Swizz Beatz, Jill Scott, and BJ The Chicago Kid amongst others, with Riggins handling the majority of the production save for one unearthed J Dilla rarity.

Hear Common and trade bars with Black Thought on the new song, “Say Peace,” below. You can also catch a glimpse at another song from the album, “Place in This World,” in new ad spot for Michelle Obama’s “When We All Vote” campaign. Scroll on for the full A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1 tracklist and hold tight for the album to drop this Friday.

A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 1 Tracklist:

1 (A Beautiful Revolution) Intro
2 Fallin’
3 Say Peace
4 What Do You Say (Move It Baby)
5 Courageous
6 A Place In This World
7 A Riot In My Mind
8 Don’t Forget Who You Are
9 (A Beautiful Revolution) Outro


Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers music.

Published by

Recent Posts

Rap Veteran Coolio Dead At 59

Coolio, known for his Grammy-winning hit "Gangsta's Paradise" died on Wednesday at 59-years-old, according to… Read More

September 28, 2022

The Making of Miguel’s ‘Kaleidoscope Dream’ Album

Miguel’s Kaleidoscope Dream is an album that splits time between rebellious youth and reverence for… Read More

September 28, 2022

Watch Lizzo Play James Madison’s 200-Year-Old Crystal Flute

While performing in Washington, D.C. on Tuesday night, Lizzo made history by becoming the first… Read More

September 28, 2022

Social Media Responds to Yung Miami Saying She Wants to Be “The Black Oprah”

In an interview with XXL, Yung Miami declared that she wants to be "The Black… Read More

September 28, 2022

17-Year-Old Arrested In Connection to Murder of PnB Rock

The 17-year-old son of Freddie Trone has been accused of murdering PnB Rock before his… Read More

September 28, 2022

Marvel’s ‘Blade’ Reboot Is Having Some Problems

From losing its director right before filming was about to begin to reports about its… Read More

September 28, 2022