Jay Electronica Act II: Patents of Nobility
Jay Electronica Act II: Patents of Nobility
Photo Credit: Artist

Tracklist: Jay Electronica 'Act II: Patents of Nobility (The Turn)'

Update: Jay Electronica has finally released Act II: Patents of Nobility (The Turn). You can stream the album on TIDAL. (It is not clear if, or when, the album will hit other DSPs, like Spotify and Apple Music.)

The album leaked on the Internet. If you count yourself as one of the legion holding out for Act II over the last 11 years, you can thank the efforts of a group of nearly 1,000 opportunistic Discord users who reportedly pooled their money to make the link public. The 16-track project features a number of well-circulated one-offs, including appearances from JAY-ZErykah Badu, and The-Dream.

Act II: Patents of Nobility (The Turn) is the second Jay Electronica to drop in 2020. Jay Electronica released A Written Testimony as his debut album at the top of 2020. Effectively a collaborative project with JAY-Z, the Roc Nation chief is featured on eight of the album’s ten tracks.

Scroll down to see the original story. 

Jay Electronica's Act II: Patents of Nobility (The Turn) is one of the most anticipated albums in the history of Rap. As a huge fan of the man's sparse collection of work myself, it is one of my most anticipated albums ever in life. About an hour ago Jay tweeted a screenshot of his iTunes with a tracklisting of the album. We've been hearing rumors to expect this to drop in October (yes, of this year!). I remember waiting for Act II on Christmas eve (or was it New Years Eve) in 2008 (or was it 2009?)... you get my point. Back in March we heard from ?uestlove after Act II had been turned in (according to Jay E's twitter) saying that Hov had the album and “listens to it constantly, says it’s his favorite record of 2012…” but that Jigga was wanting some sort of single.

Well according to the screen shot, the album features Kanye West (twice), Erykah Badu, Jay-Z, The-Dream, The Bullitts, Diddy, Ronald Regan (lol), and more.

01. Real Magic ft. Ronald Regan

02. New Illuminati ft. Kanye West

03. Patents of Nobility

04. Life On Mars (Erykah Badu)

05. Bonnie & Clyde guest starring Serge Gainsbourg

06. Breakfast At Tiffany’s (Shiny Suit Theory) ft. Charlotte Gainsbourg, Jay-Z & The Dream

07. Memories & Merlot

08. Better Tune In With The Infinite ft. Latonya Givens (click to go behind the scenes)

09. A Letter To Fallon

10. Road To Perdition ft. Jay-Z

11. Welcome To Knightsbridge ft. Sean Diddy Combs

12. Rough Love ft. Kanye West

13. Run & Hide guest starring The Bullitts (click to watch the video)

14. Nights of the Roundtable

15. 10,000 Lotus Petals

Via twitter @jayelectronica:

"Every magic trick consists of three parts. The Pledge: where the magician shows you something ordinary; a bird, a deck of cards or a man. The Turn: Where the magician takes the ordinary something and does something #Extraordinary." Referring to Act I: Eternal Sunshine (the pledge) and Act II: Patents of Nobility (the turn)."

The third part to a magic trick is "The Prestige" but let's just take this one step at a time, we've been waiting (some more patient than others) to see this magician's second act for a long time.

"I'd like to take this opportunity to thank Hov for being one of the most patient label heads in the history of label heads.  I have the best fans in the world. Thank you all."

This story was updated on October 7th, 2020.