2021 BET Awards: The Full List of Winners

The 2021 BET Awards is hosted by Taraji P. Henson and is dedication towards Black women. Check out all the winners here.

Last year, the BET Awards were virtual. For the 2021 version of the awards show, BET has returned to a live setting scenario. The 2021 BET Awards is going down tonight, Sunday, June 27th, at the Microsoft Theater Los Angeles. The awards show is hosted by Taraji P. Henson and features performances from the likes of Kirk Franklin, Migos and a pregnant Cardi B, DaBaby, Megan Thee Stallion, and a special performance dedicated to DMX, who died back in April. 

This year’s BET Awards is a dedication towards Black women. Taraji started the show by saying:

 “Tonight you’ll get 100% of our full Blackness. This is where we matter. Where our Black entertainment matters. This is 2021, and we’re celebrating the year of the Black woman. Celebrating Black women is not a fad or a trend, it’s a forever mood.”

Check out the full list of winners below — which we will be updating live — below.

Viewer’s Choice Award

  • “Savage (Remix)” –  Megan Thee Stallion ft. Beyoncé
  • “WAP” –  Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion
  • “Go Crazy” –  Chris Brown & Young Thug
  • “Rockstar” – DaBaby ft. Roddy Ricch
  • “Popstar” –  DJ Khaled ft. Drake
  • “Laugh Now Cry Later” – Drake ft. Lil Durk
  • “The Bigger Picture” – Lil Baby
  • “Leave the Door Open”  – Silk Sonic

Best International Act

  • Burna Boy — Nigeria
  • Aya Nakamura — France
  • Diamond Platnumz — Tanzania
  • Emicida — Brazil
  • Headie One — United Kingdom
  • Wizkid — Nigeria
  • Young T & Bugsey — United Kingdom
  • Youssopha — France

Best Male Hip Hop Artist

  • Lil Baby
  • DaBaby
  • Drake
  • J. Cole
  • Jack Harlow
  • Pop Smoke

Album of the Year

  • Heaux Tales — Jazmine Sullivan
  • Ungodly Hour — Chloe x Halle
  • King’s Disease — Nas
  • Good News — Megan Thee Stallion
  • Blame it on Baby — DaBaby
  • After Hours — The Weeknd

Video of the Year

  • “WAP” — Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion
  • “Up” — Cardi B
  • “Do It” — Chloe x Halle
  • “Go Crazy” — Chris Brown and Young Thug
  • “Laugh Now Cry Later” — Drake ft. Lil Durk
  • “Leave the Door Open” — Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak and Silk Sonic

BET Her Award

  • “Good Days” — Sza
  • “So Done” — Alicia Keys ft. Khalid
  • “Baby Mama” — Brandy ft. Chance the Rapper
  • “Anti Queen” — Bri Steves
  • “Baby Girl” — Chloe x Halle
  • “Rooted” — Ciara ft. Ester Dean

Best New Artist

  • Giveon
  • Coi Leray
  • Flo Milli
  • Jack Harlow
  • Latto
  • Pooh Shiesty

Best Female R&B / Pop Artist

  • H.E.R.
  • Beyoncé
  • Jazmine Sullivan
  • Jhené Aiko
  • Summer Walker
  • SZA

Best Female Hip Hop Artist

  • Megan Thee Stallion
  • Cardi B
  • Coi Leray
  • Doja Cat
  • Latto
  • Saweetie

Best Group

  • Bruno Mars, Anderson .Paak as Silk Sonic
  • 21 Savage & Metro Boomin
  • Chloe X Halle
  • Chris Brown & Young Thug
  • City Girls
  • Migos

Best Actress

  • Andra Day
  • Angela Bassett
  • Issa Rae
  • Jurnee Smollett
  • Viola Davis
  • Zendaya

Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act

  • Bree Runway — United Kingdom
  • Arlo Parks — United Kingdom
  • Bramsito — France
  • Elaine — South Africa
  • MC Dricka — Brazil
  • Ronisia — France
  • Tems — Nigeria

Sportswoman of the Year Award:

  • Naomi Osaka
  • A’ja Wilson
  • Candace Parker
  • Claressa Shields
  • Serena Williams
  • Skylar Diggins-Smith

Sportsman of the Year Award:

  • Lebron James
  • Kyrie Irving
  • Patrick Mahomes
  • Russell Westbrook
  • Russell Wilson
  • Stephen Curry

Best Male R&B / Pop Artist

  • Chris Brown
  • 6LACK
  • Anderson .Paak
  • Giveon
  • Tank
  • The Weeknd

Best Collaboration

  • “WAP” — Cardi B ft. Megan Thee Stallion
  • “Rockstar” — DaBaby ft. Roddy Ricch
  • “Popstar” — DJ Khaled ft. Drake
  • “What’s Poppin (Remix)” — Jack Harlow ft. DaBaby, Tory Lanez and Lil Wayne
  • “Cry Baby” — Megan Thee Stallion ft. DaBaby
  • “For the Night” — Pop Smoke ft. Lil Baby and DaBaby

Video Director of the Year

  • Bruno Mars & Florent Déchard
  • Benny Boom
  • Cole Bennett
  • Colin Tilley
  • Dave Meyers
  • Hype Williams

Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel / Inspirational Award

  • “Strong God” — Kirk Franklin
  • “In Jesus Name” — Bebe Winans
  • “Never Lost” — Cece Winans
  • “Hold Us Together” — H.E.R.
  • “Thank You For It All” — Marvin Sapp
  • “Touch From You” — Tamela Mann

Best Movie

  • Judas and the Black Messiah
  • Coming 2 America
  • Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
  • One Night in Miami
  • Soul
  • The United States Vs. Billie Holiday

Best Actor

  • Chadwick Boseman
  • Aldis Hodge
  • Damson Idris
  • Daniel Kaluuya
  • Eddie Murphy
  • Lakeith Stanfield

Youngstars Award:

  • Marsai Martin
  • Alex R. Hibbert
  • Ethan Hutchison
  • Lonnie Chavis
  • Michael Epps
  • Storm Reid
Dimas Sanfiorenzo

Dimas Sanfiorenzo is the Managing Editor for Okayplayer. He specializes in coverage centered around music, pop culture, and politics. Email:

Published by
Dimas Sanfiorenzo

Recent Posts

What’s AP African American Studies and Why Has Florida Banned It?

Here's what to know about AP African American Studies and why the course has become… Read More

February 1, 2023

D’Angelo Will Be Featured on Audible’s ‘Words + Music’ Series

D'Angelo and Jazmine Sullivan have joined Audible's Words + Music roster, each artist hosting a… Read More

February 1, 2023

A ‘King of the Hill’ Revival Is Coming to Hulu

Hulu is reviving beloved Fox animated sitcom King of the Hill, with co-creator Mike Judge… Read More

February 1, 2023

For Freestyle Fellowship, Their Grammy Nomination Is “A Long Time Coming”

Freestyle Fellowship members Aceyalone and Self Jupiter spoke about the Grammy nomination, releasing old and… Read More

February 1, 2023

Dr. Dre Celebrates 30 Years of ‘The Chronic’ By Bringing it Back to Streaming

Dr. Dre is celebrating the 30th anniversary of his debut album, The Chronic, with a 30th… Read More

February 1, 2023

Netflix Reveals How it Will Crackdown on Password Sharing

Netflix has updated their FAQ pages with details about exemptions and rules on password-sharing within… Read More

February 1, 2023