Ali Shaheed Muhammad And Adrian Younge Announce New Album Featuring Questlove, Raphael Saadiq And Bilal

A Tribe Called Quest‘s Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Adrian Younge have announced a new album.

READ: After Grammys Snub, A Tribe Called Quest Nominated For 2018 Bet Award

Titled The Midnight Hour, the collaborative project has been in the works since 2013. The album will feature a full orchestra and a rhythm section as well as contributions from Raphael Saadiq, Questlove, Marsha Ambrosius, Bilal, Digable PlanetsLadybug Mecca, and others.

The Midnight Hour is out June 8 via Younge’s Linear Labs label. Ahead of the album’s release, the duo has released its first single, “Questions.” The track features CeeLo Green. Check out a tracklist for the album below.

Prior to this, the duo worked together on the score for Luke Cage.

“They let us run wild on this thing, and let us act as if we were artists and not hired employees. This is something that’s 13 episodes and we just went in and tried to make 13 albums really quickly. So the music is something that serves as the nucleus of hip-hop culture. Hip-hop came from the sampling of breaks and all that stuff, and we created the score from the perspective of vinyl culture which is the source material for hip-hop,” Younge said. “So, all the kind of music that hip-hop was sampling was the kind of music we created, in addition to creating hip-hop stuff for the series. It’s one of the best experiences I’ve ever had composing.”

Album Tracklist:

1. Black Beacon

2. Mare ft. Ladybug Mecca

3. It’s You ft. Raphael Saadiq

4. Questions ft. CeeLo Green

5. So Amazing ft. Luther Vandross

6. Gate 54

7. Do It Together ft. Bilal

8. Redneph in B Minor

9. Better Endeavor

10. Smiling For Me ft. Karolina

11. Don’t Keep Me Waiting ft. Marsha Ambrosius

12. Bitches Do Voodoo ft. Angela Muno

13. Possibilities ft. Eryn Allen Kane

14. Mission

15. Dans Un Moment D’errance ft. Laetitia Sadier, Questlove & Keyon Harrold

16. Love is Free ft. Eryn Allen Kane

17. Together Again ft. No I

18. Feel Alive ft. Karolina & Loren Oden

19. There Is No Greater Love ft. Loren Oden & Saudia Yasmein

20. Ravens

Elijah C. Watson

Elijah Watson serves as Okayplayer's News & Culture Editor. When he's not writing he's listening to Sade and crying or watching My Hero Academia with his partner.

Published by
Elijah C. Watson

Recent Posts

SZA Announces the Release Date For Her New Album ‘S.O.S.’ on SNL

SZA will release her new album, S.O.S., next week. It's been a long wait but… Read More

December 4, 2022

Netflix’s ‘Wednesday’ Shouldn’t Be Overshadowed By Tim Burton’s History With Black Characters

The way Wednesday sets up its Black characters has led to discussions around Tim Burton's complicated history… Read More

December 2, 2022

Takeoff’s Alleged Killer Has Been Arrested in Houston

An arrest has been made pertaining to the death of Migos rapper Takeoff in Houston,… Read More

December 2, 2022

Best Songs of The Week: ft. MIKE, Curren$y, and More

The Round-Up is Okayplayer’s weekly playlist of the best songs in the worlds of hip-hop… Read More

December 2, 2022

Mother of Shanquella Robinson Slams FBI For Delayed Charges

Salamondra Robinson, mother of the late Shanquella Robinson spoke to The Independent about the FBI's… Read More

December 2, 2022

6 New Hip-Hop & R&B Albums You Should Be Listening To (Week of December 2)

Babyface Ray, Yungeen Ace, and RINI share projects on this New Music Friday. Curren$y also… Read More

December 2, 2022