Prince’s Earliest Recordings w/ 94 East Remastered & Reissued As 3xLP Vinyl Set

zo Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…
Prince's Earliest Recordings w/ 94 East Set For 3xLP Vinyl Reissue

Prince's Earliest Recordings w/ 94 East Set For 3xLP Vinyl Reissue

Purple army take heed, a new Prince reissue is slated arrive with a focus on his earliest studio recordings. In 1977, a 19 year old Prince Rogers Nelson had taken up residence at the home of schoolmate and lifelong friend, Andre Cymone, recording with Pepé Willie‘s band 94 East for a late-seventies stretch just before launching an incomparable solo career.

Those recordings find Prince on just about every instrument, testing and proving his chops via four-to-the-flour disco and glitzy funk. Now those recordings are slated to be reissued as a 3xLP vinyl set, remastered from the original tapes and packaged with an extensive interview with Pepé Willie. Peep the full track list down below and pre-order your copy today via Charly ahead of the official October 21st release.

You can dive a little deeper into Prince’s early years by revisiting his Loring Park Sessions, recorded at manager Owen Husney’s home.


Side A

1. Just Another Sucker
2. If You Feel Like Dancin`
3. Lovin’ Cup

Side B

1. Games (Original Version)
2. Dance To The Music Of The World
3. One Man Jam

Side C

1. If You See Me
2. Games (Instrumental Version)
3. I’ll Always Love You

Side D

1. Better Than You Think
2. If We Don’t
3. You Can Be My Teacher
4. Love, Love, Love

Side E

1. If You See Me (Instrumental Version)
2. Games (Alternate Instrumental Version)
3. Better Than You Think (Instrumental Version)

Side F

1. Dance to The Music Of The World (Rehearsal Session Version)

h/t The Vinyl Factory

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us