* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Pass The Popcorn: Much-Anticipated 808 Documentary To Be Released This Spring via Apple Music
Pass The Popcorn: Much-Anticipated 808 Documentary To Be Released This Spring via Apple Music

'808' Documentary Featuring Questlove, Pharrell, Rick Rubin + More Will Be Out In December

Pass The Popcorn: Questlove, Rick Rubin, Pharrell + More Sound Off In Upcoming 808 Documentary [Trailer]

The documentary 808, which chronicles the highly influential Roland TR-808 drum machine and it's undeniable impact on music, has finally received a release date. 808 will first be released as an Apple Music exclusive on December 9th. It will then become available on iTunes later that month for rental and download, on the 19th.  The documentary is narrated by Zane Lowe of Beats 1 and features appearances from Questlove, Rick RubinDiplo, Beastie Boys, A-Trak, Fatboy SlimDamon Albarn, StrafePhil CollinsFelix Da Housecat, Lil Jon, Pharrell, and a ton of others. Alexander Dunn and Luke Bainbridge wrote the film. Dunn also acted as director. 808 premiered about two years ago at the 2015 SXSW Film Festival. The soundtrack to the film will also be out later this month on November 25th and is titled 808: The Music. A single featuring Lil Wayne and Charlie Puth called "Nothing But Trouble" is already out. Scroll down to peep the full track list for 808: The Music.

Watch a trailer for 808 via YouTube below.

808: The Music Soundtrack Tracklist 

1. Afrika Bambaataa & The Soulsonic Force, "Planet Rock"

2. Beastie Boys, "Paul Revere"

3. Public Enemy, "Yo! Bum Rush the Show"

4. Man Parrish, "Hip Hop Be Bop (Don’t Stop)"

5. Planet Patrol, "Play At Your Own Risk"

6. Shannon, "Let The Music Play"

7. Strafe, "Set It Off"

8. T La Rock / Jazzy J, "It’s Yours"

9. 808 State, "Flow Coma"

10. Felix da Housecat, "Kickdrum"

11. Lil Jon & The East Side Boyz, "What U Gon’ Do" (feat. Lil Scrappy)

12. Flux Pavilion, "Vibrate"

13. Jamie xx, "Gosh"

14. Lil Wayne & Charlie Puth, "Nothing But Trouble"

H/T: Billboard