* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

A new Dinner Party album, Enigmatic Society
A new Dinner Party album, Enigmatic Society
'Enigmatic Society' album cover

Robert Glasper, Terrace Martin & Kamasi Washington Announce New Dinner Party Album

Dinner Party, composed of Terrace Martin, Kamasi Washington, and Robert Glasper, are releasing their sophomore album Enigmatic Society on April 14.

Terrace Martin, Kamasi Washington, and Robert Glasper are throwing another Dinner Party. This week, the jazz and soul trio announced their second album together, Enigmatic Society, which follows their eponymous 2020 debut album. Also appearing on the album are Phoelix, Ant Clemons, 9th Wonder, Tank, and Arin Ray, who’s featured on their new single, “For Granted.” The song follows “Insane” featuring Ant Clemons, which samples Mtume’s “Juicy Fruit." The track was released back in March.

A deluxe edition of the supergroup’s debut LP, Dessert, received a Grammy nomination for Best Progressive R&B Album in 2022.

Dinner Party will also be performing at Coachella this month, having sets on Saturday during both weekends. For those who can’t make the show, the set will be live-streamed on YouTube.

In regards to the performance, Martin told SPIN that he’s “looking forward to combining elements of jazz on such a big stage with elements of hip-hop, R&B, and soul.”

“I’m so happy people are putting us on that big of a stage, so we can give them some real beautiful, vibe-y ass music. I’m excited, man,” he added. “I’m always fascinated with seeing an idea grow and complete. That’s what I’m addicted to in this whole game.”

Enigmatic Society releases Friday, April 14. Check out the full tracklist below.

“Answered Prayer” (feat. Phoelix)

“Breathe” (feat. Arin Ray)

“Insane” (feat. Ant Clemons)

“Watts Renaissance”

“For Granted” (feat. Arin Ray)

“Secure” (feat. Phoelix & Tank)

“Can’t Go” (feat. Phoelix)

“The Lower East Side”

“Love Love” (feat. Arin Ray)