Source: Artist

Terrace Martin, Robert Glasper, 9th Wonder & Kamasi Washington Team Up for 'Dinner Party'

Terrace Martin began crafting the album nearly two years ago.

Near the end of 2019, Grammy award-winning musician Terrace Martin rented out Los Angeles' Chalice Studios. He promptly invited fellow all-everything musicians Robert Glasper, Kamasi Washington, and 9th Wonder out for jam sessions.

On Friday, Martin released the product of those sessions: a seven-track album called Dinner Party. The project also features contributions from Chicago crooner Phoelix. View the full tracklist and stream the album below.

The four musicians hold eleven Grammy nominations between themselves. Robert Glasper has been nominated seven times and brought home three awards: In 2016, he won the Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media with "Miles Ahead." Two years before, he won the Best Traditional R&B Performance for "Jesus Children." In 2015, his Covered: Recorded Live at Capitol Studios album was nominated for Best Jazz Instrumental Album while Black Radio 2 was nominated for Best R&B Album. The first Black Radio album won Best R&B Album in 2012 while "Gonna Be Alright (F.T.B.) was nominated for the year's Best R&B Performance. In 2009, "All Matter" scored a nomination for Best Urban/Alternative Performance.

Terrace Martin earned two nominations for his contributions to Kendrick Lamar's Good Kid, M.A.A.D City and To Pimp A Butterfly albums. 9th Wonder also earned a nomination for Butterfly. Martin got his first golden gramophone for his 2016 album Velvet Portraits.

Dinner Party - Tracklist

  1. "Sleepless Nights" (Feat. Phoelix)
  2. "Love You Bad" (Feat. Phoelix)
  3. From My Heart and My Soul (Feat. Phoelix)
  4. First Responders
  5. The Mighty Tree
  6. Freeze Tag (Feat. Phoelix)
  7. LUV U