* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Common cover
Common cover
Photo Credit: Loma Vista Recordings

Stream Common's New Album 'A Beautiful Revolution (Pt. 2),' Feat. Black Thought, PJ & More

Common has released the follow up to his 2020 album, A Beautiful Revolution (Pt 1).

Common has released his 14th studio album, A Beautiful Revolution (Pt. 2). The album is a sequel to his critically acclaimed 2020 album.

The album features appearances from Black Thought, Marcus King, Seun Kuti, and more. Special notice needs to be given to frequent collaborator PJ, who appears on five of the 11 tracks. (She also appeared on five songs on A Beautiful Revolution (Pt. 1).

In a press release, Common spoke about why he decided to create and release this album. He said:

“A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2 was created with hope and inspiration in mind. The spirit of the album was meant to emulate what a greater day would sound and feel like. We were in the midst of some tough political and socially challenging times. There was still hurt, anger and pain lingering, so I was thinking, 'what is the next step in this revolution?' I thought about what being still in these times had brought me and that was a peace beyond understanding, a greater love for self, a closer connection with God, and more appreciation for my family, friends and the simple things in life. I wanted to write about that and create music that embodied that. ”

A couple of hours before dropping this album, Common appeared on Power 106’s L.A. Leakers where he spit a monster freestyle. Common spent eight minutes rapping over Group Home’s DJ Premier-produced classic “Livin’ Proof” and Raekwon and RZA's "Incarcerated Scarfaces."

Check out that freestyle here. And listen to A Beautiful Revolution (Pt 2) below.