Js 2020 press ex1
Js 2020 press ex1
Photo Credit: Myesha Evon Gardner

9 New Albums You Should Be Listening to Right Now (Week of January 8th)

New albums from Jazmine Sullivan, Mac Ayres, and Griselda are here.

With new music dropping in all corners of the internet--between digital streaming platforms, SoundCloud, Bandcamp, and the like--it's getting harder and harder to keep an eye out for new albums. Look no further.

Here's where Okayplayer comes in. Each and every week, week round up fresh new releases for your listening pleasures. This week's edition features new albums from Jazmine Sullivan, Mac Ayres, MonoNeon, and more.

Jazmine Sullivan - Heaux Tales

Jazmine Sullivan kicks things off with her first project since 2015. Heaux Tales features Sullivan's 2020 singles "Lost One" and "Pick Up Your Feelings," as well as guest appearances from Anderson .Paak, Ari Lennox, and H.E.R.

MonoNeon - Banana Peel on Capitol Hill

Memphis-born bassist and composer MonoNeon drops his first project of the year, complete with eye-grabbing, hilarious tracks like "Spider-Mane Was on Crack One Day" and "Gentrified Chickkken Tearing Down Your Neighborhood."

YUNGMORPHEUS - States of Precarity

Miami-raised, Los Angeles-based rapper YUNGMORPHEUS drops his latest project. The militant lo-fi MC's 17-track project checks in at just under 34 minutes. The project is also available on cassette.

Mac Ayres - Magic 8 Ball

Self-taught singer-songwriter Mac Ayres' new eight-track project looks to restore the feeling of old-school R&B. "This project is for all independent artists," he wrote on Twitter. "I want every artist to know that we have the tools to do everything."

G. Perico - Free

Los Angeles MC G. Perico returns with his first project since 2019's Ten-Eight. The Free EP is a quick, yet expansive 16 minutes packed with funky production from Kacey Khaliel, Mike D, and ISM.

Griselda & BSF - Conflicted (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Fresh off a white-hot run in 2020, Griselda Records is at it again. This time around, the crew has made their first foray into film with Conflicted. On Friday, they dropped the official soundtrack, featuring appearances from Flee Lord, Boldy James, and all the usual suspects.

Oswin Benjamin - Joy Comes in the Mourning

Fresh off a role in the critically-acclaimed Netflix film The 40-Year-Old Version, Newburgh, New York MC Oswin Benjamin drops a 16-track tribute to his late brother. "I miss my brother Naj," he wrote on Instagram. "And although it's been a year since his transition, he's left me with his influence, love and light."

Uncle Murda - Don't Come Outside, Vol. 3

Fresh off his 2020 Rap-Up, Uncle Murda drops the third installment in his Don't Come Outside series. The project features guest appearances from Conway the Machine, Mysonne, and Benny the Butcher.

Key! & Tony Seltzer - The Alpha Jerk

Enigmatic Atlanta MC Key! returns, this time with New York producer Tony Seltzer in turn. The Alpha Jerk is 17 tracks long with guest features Lil Yachty, Sonny Digital, Quadie Diesel and 448Rasta.