Black Thought Thought Vs. Everybody video
Black Thought Thought Vs. Everybody video
Photo Credit: Black Thought

Watch Black Thought's Powerful “Thought Vs. Everybody” Video

Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel will be Black Thought's third EP.

Black Thought has released the video for his first single from his upcoming EP, Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel. The single is "Thought Vs. Everybody," and it was produced by Sean C, who is best known for his many collaborations with LV.

The video is epic. Directed by Rodney Passé, the video, dubbed “The Visual Reckoning,” is this gorgeous mix of civil rights archival footage, footage of today’s Black Lives Matter protests, and footage of Black Thought.

As for the track, there is no hook on the song. The track features three straight minutes of bars. On the song, Black Thought raps:

"Lady Liberty face full of concealer

I'm half Masta Killa and half Hugh Masekela

Latrophobia, that's a fear of the healer

Kaepernick is an activist, y'all in fear of the kneeler

Everything's obtuse, nothin' is obscene

Another young life was lost on live stream

Another great fell from grace in high esteem

Then the clock struck thirteen, we in some kind of dream"

Back in April, Black Thought premiered "Thought Vs. Everbody" during a quarantined version of Tiny Desk. During that performance, Black Thought also premiered "Nature Of The Beast," which features Portugal The Man and The Last Artful, Dodgr.

Streams of Thought, Vol. 3 will feature 13 new tracks from Black Thought and appearances from Pusha-T, Killer Mike, Swizz Beats, ScHoolboy Q, and more.

Here is the full tracklist for the EP.

1.     "I’m Not Crazy (First Contact)"

2.     "State Prisoner"

3.     "Good Morning" Ft. Swizz Beats, Pusha T and Killer Mike

4.     "Magnificent"

5.     "Experience" (Interlude)

6.     "Quiet Trip" Ft. Portugal The Man And The Last Artful, Dodgr

7.     "Nature Of The Beast" Ft. Portugal The Man And The Last Artful, Dodgr

8.     "We Should Be Good" Ft. CS Armstrong

9.     "Steak Um" Ft. ScHoolboy Q

10.   "Thought Vs. Everybody"

11.   "Ghetto Boyz & Girls" Ft. CS Armstrong

12.   "Fuel" Ft. Portugal The Man And The Last Artful, Dodgr

13.   "I’m Not Crazy" (Outro)

Black Thought the cover of the EP features a stunning painting from artist Khari Turner, who is an MFA candidate at Columbia University’s School of the Arts.

This will be the third edition of Black Thought's critically acclaimed Streams of Thought series. The first one was produced entirely by 9th Wonder and Khrysis. Vol. 2 was produced entirely by veteran producer Salaam Remi. Now we will get to hear what Black Thought and Sean C sounds like.

On Thursday, Black Thought announced that Stream of Thought Vol. 3 has been delayed.

"I know you all were expecting the album at midnight," he wrote on Instagram. "My bad y'all. But this delay is for a good reason. Big announcement coming soon. New release date to follow. Love."

The announcement comes paired with a video of Thought writing "Black Thought x Sean C" on a pad. Stay tuned for further details.

This story was updated on July 22nd.