Now Reading
Listen To Black Thought And 9th Wonder’s ‘Streams Of Thought Vol. 1’

Listen To Black Thought And 9th Wonder’s ‘Streams Of Thought Vol. 1’

Black Thought at Roots Picnic 2016
Photo Credit: Averie Cole for Okayplayer

Black Thought has released his first solo endeavor, Streams of Thought Vol. 1.

READ: Black Thought And 9th Wonder Release The Tracklist And Cover Art For ‘Streams Of Thought Vol. 1’

The five-track EP clocks in at just 17 minutes and features guest appearances from Rapsody, Styles P, and KIRBY, and is produced entirely by 9th Wonder and The Soul Council.

Black Thought spoke with NPR about why he prolonged a solo release in favor of working on music through the Roots.

“It’s always been about the greater good of our organization for me,” the rapper said. “All those solo efforts that I’ve announced, it breathes new life into the awareness of me as an artist. The Roots brand always has to be maintained, and we’re just at a place now where prime-time TV affords us a different sort of visibility and I’m able to kind of take a step back and focus on some of the other creative energy that I still need to get out. None of this is my solo album. It’s just a chance to see me in a different light doing a different thing.”

See Also

Check out the tracklist below.

Streams of Thought Vol. 1 tracklist

1. Twofifteen
2. 9th vs. Thought
3. Dostoyevsky (feat. Rapsody)
4. Making a Murderer (feat. Styles P)
5. Thank You (feat. KIRBY)


Subscribe to Okayplayer and enjoy the following benefits:

  • Exclusive content not featured on the site.
  • Exclusive deals for our merch store.
  • First notice on upcoming events and online programming.