Tyler The Creator Cherry Bomb Album Art Square
Tyler The Creator Cherry Bomb Album Art Square

Tyler The Creator Announces Surprise Album 'Cherry Bomb', Shares Video, Two New Tracks

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.

Tyler The Creator has surprised the world with news of a brand new album, Cherry Bomb. The LP contains 13 tracks and will allegedly drop April 13th. (We emphasize "allegedly" because in today's hip-hop climate, release dates seem pretty perfunctory.) Ahead of Cherry Bomb, Tyler has shared (leaked?) two tracks, the gorgeous new synth ballad "Fucking Young/Perfect" and attack rap number "Deathcamp." Complex reports that both Kanye West and Lil Wayne will be featured on the new album.

A new video for "Fucking Young/Perfect" was released late last night through Tyler's Golf Media mobile app, but has also now appeared on Youtube. The track features guest vocal work from soul legend Charlie Wilson, as well as Toro Y Moi, Chad Alexander and Kali Uchis and is one of the smoothest, most finely-polished offerings we've heard from the 24-year-old rapper. Cherry Bomb's surprise announcement comes right in step with Tyler The Creator's OFWGKTA compatriot Earl Sweatshirt, who last month rolled out his I Don't Like Shit, I Don't Go Outside LP at a whirlwind pace via a surprise online preorder.

Preorder Cherry Bomb on iTuneshere, listen to "Deathcamp" below and watch the brand new video for "Fucking Young" (with a brilliant twist at its end) below. Welcome back, kid Tyler.