Thundercat Announces New Album ‘It Is What It Is,’ Shares New Song

Elijah C. Watson Elijah Watson serves as Okayplayer's News & Culture Editor. When…
Thundercat Announces New Album 'It Is What It Is,' Shares New Song
Photo by Parker Day

Photo Credit: Vickey Ford for

The album features Childish Gambino, Ty Dolla $ign, Steve Lacy and others.

Thundercat has announced a new album.

WATCH: Ty Dolla $ign And Thundercat Perform A Tiny Desk Tribute To Mac Miller

Titled It Is What It Is, the forthcoming project will feature Childish Gambino, Ty Dolla $ign, Steve Lacy and others. It is produced by Thundercat and Flying Lotus. The album, which drops April 3, serves as the follow-up to 2017’s Drunk.

“This album is about love, loss, life and the ups and downs that come with that,” Thundercat said in a press release. “It’s a bit tongue-in-cheek, but at different points in life you come across places that you don’t necessarily understand… some things just aren’t meant to be understood.”

The virtuosic bass player has also shared a track from It Is What It Is called “Black Qualls.” The upbeat funk song features Gambino, Lacy and Slave’s Steve Arrington.

The track list for It Is What It Is can be viewed below. In December, Thundercat announced a 2020 North American tour.

It Is What It Is Track Listing
1. Lost In Space / Great Scott / 22-26
2. Innerstellar Love
3. I Love Louis Cole (feat. Louis Cole)
4. Black Qualls (feat. Steve Lacy, Steve Arrington, & Childish Gambino)
5. Miguel’s Happy Dance
6. How Sway
7. Funny Thing
8. Overseas (feat. Zack Fox)
9. Dragonball Durag
10. How I Feel
11. King Of The Hill
12. Unrequited Love
13. Fair Chance (feat. Ty Dolla $ign & Lil B)
14. Existential Dread
15. It Is What It Is

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us