Talib Kweli - Gravitas Album Cover + Track Listing


Due out December 15th, people's champ and globe-trotting, legendary MC, Talib Kweli, offers up the official artwork and tracklist for his sixth solo album (and second this year): Gravitas. Borrowing its name from one of the many Roman virtues, Gravitas, translates to "seriousness" or "importance." Using cold, stern colors, the album cover immediately conveys this same sense of dignity. If the tracklist is any indication, we can only expect the music to further these themes. Features from the Chef, Raekwon, buzzing Brooklynites, The Underachievers, co-conspirator, Res, OKP OG Black Thought, mic-wrecker, Rah Digga, Duke Blue Devil, Mike Posner, and guitar prodigy Gary Clark Jr.; while production is mainly handled by Lord Quest and OhNo, assists also come from Jamla Soul Council member, KhrysisStatik Selektah6th Sense, and J. Dilla(!). See the tracklist below.

What makes Gravitas unique is that Kweli is cutting out the middle man and releasing the album via his own Essentially, fans of the BKMC will purchase the album directly from Kweli himself.

"Who needs this industry when we have each other," Kweli says of this self-described "experiment." We can dig it.

Pre-order the album from the Kweli Club for $12 and check out the tracklist below.

Gravitas tracklist:

1. Inner Monologue – produced by Khrysis

2. Demonology – featuring Gary Clark Jr., produced by Lord Quest

3. State of Grace – featuring Abby Dobson, produced by Lord Quest

4. Violations – featuring Raekwon, produced by Thaddeus Dixon

5. Rare Portraits – produced by OhNo

6. New Leaders – featuring UnderAchievers, produced by Statik Selektah

7. The Wormhole – produced by OhNo

8. What’s Real – featuring RES, produced by Rich Kidd

9. Art Imitates Life – featuring Black Thought, Rah Digga & ALBe. Back, produced by OhNo

10. Lover’s Peak – produced by 6th Sense

11. Colors of You – featuring Mike Posner, produced by J Dilla