* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Audio: Prince x Maceo Parker, Janelle Monáe & More Live At House of Blues

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.Prince performing live at Chicago's House of Blues (Official Purple After Jam)

Our comrades in arms(pits) over at Funk It blog just posted this epic live audio of Prince's official Purple After Jam at Chicago's House of Blues. Joined by some equally legendary guests like Maceo Parker, Janelle Monáe and Prince-egé Andy Allo, this is pretty much most-play audio. Listen to the teaser--comprising Maceo blowing the soul out of his/James Brown's "I Don't Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up The Door, I'll Get It Myself)" into the Purplous One's "Housequake"--below. Then hit the link at bottom to download the entire live set featuring turns from Janelle's Arch Orchestra and the infamous NPG (full tracklisting and personnel after the jump).

>>>Download (via FunkIt)

Prince & The NPG:

01. Intro

02. [first minute missing] When Stars Collide (ft. Andy Allo) >

03. We’re A Winner [Curtis Mayfield cover] (ft. Shelby J) >

04. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You) [Aretha Franklin cover] (ft. Shelby J) >

05. Satisfied >

06. I Don’t Want Nobody To Give Me Nothing (Open Up The Door, I’ll Get It Myself)

[James Brown cover] (ft. Maceo Parker) >

07. Housequake >

08. The Jam (ft. Maceo Parker)

09. People Pleaser intro

10. People Pleaser (ft. Andy Allo & Maceo Parker) (sans Prince)

11. Brown Skin [India Arie cover] (ft. Shelby J)

12. ?No Excuse? (instrumental) (ft. Maceo Parker)

Janelle Monae’s Arch Orchestra:

01. Intro

02. The Electric Lady (ft. Maceo Parker)

03. “Giving You What You Love” (?new song?)

04. Chameleon [Herbie Hancock & The Headhunters cover]

05. Tightrope

06. Outro

Prince & The NPG:

Prince (vox, guitar)

John Blackwell (drums)

Andrew Gouche (bass)

Ida Nielsen (guitar)

Morris Hayes (keyboards)

???Cassandra O’Neal (keyboards)

Mike Scott (guitar)

Shelby J. (vox)

Liv Warfield (vox)

???Elisa Dease (vox)

Damaris Lewis (dance)


Andy Allo (guitar, vox)

Maceo Parker (saxophone)

Sylvester Onyejiaka (saxophone)

BK Jackson (saxophone)

Marcus Anderson (saxophone)

Adrian Crutchfield (saxophone)

Keith Anderson (saxophone)

Lynn Grissett (trumpet)

Steve Reid (trumpet)

Phil Lassiter (trumpet)

Nick Marchione (trumpet)

Roy Agee (trombone)

Joey Rayfield (trombone)

Janelle Monae’s Arch Orchestra:

Janelle Monáe (vox)

Kellindo Parker (guitar)

Calvin Parmer (bass)

Terrence Brown (keyboards)

Mike P. Phillips (drums)