* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

D'Angelo's 1995 Set 'Live At The Jazz Cafe' London' Gets An Official Release
D'Angelo's 1995 Set 'Live At The Jazz Cafe' London' Gets An Official Release

D'Angelo x Al Green -"I'm Glad You're Mine" ['Live At The Jazz Cafe' Bonus Track]

D'Angelo's 1995 Set 'Live At The Jazz Cafe' London' Gets An Official Release

UPDATE:Today we get D'angelo's cover of Al Green's "I'm Glad You're Mine" the one of the 5 bonus tracks and the first official leak from this reissue rarity. Stream below via Billboard:


D'Angelo's rare 1995 live cut Live At The Jazz Cafe is getting the rerelease treatment, featuring 5--you read correctly-- new tracks from the pre-Voodoo life of our R&B Yoda. While the live album was recorded nearly 20 years ago and released limitedly in Japan and Europe, its about to get all kinds of real for D's apostles worldwide. The original 7 track release featured all of his original material from the set, but failed to even scratch the surface of what his covers accomplished on that fateful London night.

Those that have ever had the opportunity to witness the great savior of our craft in session or on stage, know that its the awe-inspiring renditions of funk and soul's trophy pieces that make his live set the comprehensive--borderline academic-- review that they tend to be. Included on this rerelease are takes of Al Green's "I'm Glad You're Mine," The Ohio Players' "Sweet Sticky Thing," Mandrill's "Fencewalk," as well as an unheard "Introduction" and "Announcement." While this certainly isn't the next album from R&B Jesus--nor does it contain virtually any new material-- it is an offering of some seldom-heards, even if most of it has been readily available through various pirating channels over the years. Nonetheless, if we can't get some new material out of him, I suppose we'll have to settle for some new old material. Live At The Jazz Cafe, London: The Complete Show is due out March 25th, but we'll be sure to keep you posted in all things D, so keep it locked as rumors continue to swirl over the near complete follow-up to 2000's groundbreaking Voodoo LP. You can view the full tracklist below.

1. Introduction

2. Fencewalk (Mandrill cover)

3. Sweet Sticky Thing (Ohio Players cover)

4. Jonz in My Bones

5. Me and Those Dreamin’ Eyes of Mine

6. Sh*t, Damn, Motherf*cker

7. Cruisin’ (Smokey Robinson cover)

8. I’m Glad You’re Mine (Al Green cover)

9. Lady

10. Announcement

11. Can't Hide Love

12. Brown Sugar