Daft Punk Feat. Pharrell + Nile Rodgers - 'Get Lucky' (Official Single)

Daft Punk x Pharrell + Nile Rodgers - "Get Lucky" [Official Single]


UPDATE 2 (The Electric Boogaloo): Daft Punk drops the official version of their heavily bootlegged hard-driving dance track “Get Lucky” – the lead single from their forthcoming LP Random Access Memories featuring Pharrell and Nile Rodgers. The genuine article comes after a super fake-out of a leak flooded the internet. Just recap the first “leak” was clearly a loop constructed from a series of 15-second snippets that played during a recent Saturday Night Live broadcast. The preview of the track also aired with a video teaser that was undoubtedly tapped to fill space. That was closely followed by a Radio Edit which now seems to have been a genuine “leak” of the song in all aspects except sonic quality–though it’s impossible for our in-house Daft P forensic nerdsquad to compare them bar by bar, since the Turkish soundcloud page (!) which hosted the track is now down. The debate is somewhat moot, however, since the official single offers a cleaner and obviously more complete production with all of the verses intact. With the genuine article now available for download, this version of the track will hopefully stave the avalanche of D-Punk knock-offs for a little while. Check the single below. Scroll down to peep the Random Access Memories tracklisting (see the robots track0by-track breakdown here) and purchase “Get Lucky.”

Random Access Memories Tracklist:
01. Give Life Back to Music feat. Nile Rodgers
02. The Game of Love
03. Giorgio by Moroder feat. Giorgio Moroder
04. Within feat. Chilly Gonzales
05. Instant Crush feat. Julian Casablancas
06. Lose Yourself to Dance feat. Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers
07. Touch feat. Paul Williams
08. Get Lucky feat. Pharrell Williams and Nile Rodgers
09. Beyond
10. Motherhood
11. Fragments of Time feat. Todd Edwards
12. Doin’ It Right feat. Panda Bear
13. Contact feat. DJ Falcon

>>>Purchase “Get Lucky” Here


UPDATE: All trolling aside it appears OKP (like a bunch of other sites) got momentarily fooled by a bootleg track made from looping a snippet of the “Get Lucky” teaser. We have updated with a more complete track marked ‘original radio edit’ which appears to contain a legit 2nd verse from Pharrell and a bridge with the trademark Daft Punk vocoders all over it–and the run time also appears to match the duration of the radio edit which will be available on Amazon on 4/19.

Still–debate rages over whether this is a legitimate ‘rough cut’ which was leaked online or just a much better fake. As SBTRKT tweeted at us: “I got higher hopes for verse 2 and the middle 8” (or just take a scroll down to the comments section for more digital ether). Can’t call it, so we’ll leave it to your ears to judge until the original sources weigh in (or the stream gets shut down). Meanwhile it seems appropriate that Daft Punk got us debating whether these are the real robots or the fake robots. Alan Turing cyaan test! -ed.

A rough cut of Daft Punk‘s new single “Get Lucky” has hit the web. This leak comes after the song was previewed in 15-second increments during a recent broadcast of Saturday Night Live. The track featuring Pharrell and legendary guitarist Nile Rodgers finds the N.E.R.D. frontman on lead vocals. The track comes ahead of the official single, which reportedly drops tomorrow. The new material precedes their forthcoming LP Random Access Memories dropping on May 21st. The LP was recorded as the band traveled around the world – the vocals and overdubs recorded in Paris, while the rhythm was laid down between Los Angeles and New York. Daft Punk has also been busy helping Kanye West with his new music. In a recent interview with Rolling Stone, the group discussed their recent work with the rapper/producer:

While recording, Daft Punk found time in their schedules to jam with Kanye West for his next album. At their Paris studio, they laid down a combination of live and programmed drums while Kanye worked out rough vocals on the fly. “It was very raw: he was rapping – kind of screaming primally, actually,” Thomas says. “Kanye doesn’t give a fuck,” Guy-Manuel adds. “He’s a good friend.” Director (and longtime Daft Punk compatriot) Michel Gondry says that Kanye recently played him “two songs” that sprang from the session. “One of them, I told him it sounded solid and powerful – I envisioned a cube when I heard it,” Gondry says. “He told me, Chris Cunningham’s already directing the video!”

Looks like there are a bunch of exciting things on the horizon for Daft Punk. Check the track below. Scroll down to pre-order the new LP and take a peek at the SNL ad, which plays more like a video despite the brief run-time.

Shouts to RS

>>>Pre-Order Random Access Memories Here

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media