Chuck Brown’s Final Recordings To Be Released On Posthumous ‘Beautiful Life’ LP

zo Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…
Chuck Brown's Final Recordings To Be Heard On Posthumous 'Beautiful Life' LP

Chuck Brown's Final Recordings To Be Heard On Posthumous 'Beautiful Life' LP

Chuck Brown‘s legacy will be cemented once more as the posthumous Beautiful Life LP has been unveiled. The release promises to unite the go-go general’s contributions with a new generation of funkonauts , tapping the likes of Doug E. Fresh, Faith EvansWale, Raheem DeVaughn and more to grace some of Brown’s final recordings, paying tribute to the conga and timbale fortified sonic stamps he conceived in the DMV, now just as synonymous with the District as Mambo Sauce and Disco Dan. Brown’s roots are so firmly planted in funk’s soil that it is rumored his band received a set of P-Funk‘s equipment once the ’80s had their way with Starchild & Co.

Beautiful Life will be released Tuesday August 19th, just in time to celebrate Brown’s 78th birthday on the 22nd and mark the inaugural Chuck Brown Day in our nation’s capitol. On top of the album’s release, DMV residents will be able to join his band for a week full of commemorative events, holding a flame up for go-go’s Godfather and providing that extra push for the kiddies to get with. You can catch the full schedule of the proceedings and the tracklisting for Beautiful Life below. Preorder your copy of Chuck Brown’s final pieces on iTunes today and check out the Wale-assisted title-track on Soundcloud. If you’re itching for a live cut, peep that one time The Roots tailored a tribute to both Brown and Adam Yauch in a ruckus take on the go-go sound below.

Beautiful Life Tracklisting :

1. “Doug E Fresh Intro”
2. “Beautiful Life” – featuring Wale
3. “Best In Me” – featuring Faith Evans and Raheem DeVaughn
4. “Lighters” – The Chuck Brown Band featuring Ms. Yendy
5. “Pop That Trunk” –  featuring Sugar Bear and KK
6. “Still Crankin’” – The Chuck Brown Band featuring KK
7. “Love Is My Religion” – The Chuck Brown Band featuring Frank Sirius
8. “Oh Happy Day” – featuring Y’Anna Crawley and The Howard University Gospel Choir
9. “You’ll Never Find Another Love Like Mine”

Chuck Brown Commemorative Event Schedule:

Tuesday, August 19, 2014 : Official Chuck Brown “Beautiful Life” Album Release date
Wednesday, August 20, 2014 : Screening of Put Your Hands Up! The Tribute Concert to Chuck Brown at U Street Outdoor Movie Series at Harrison Park
Friday, August 22, 2014 : Chuck Brown Band Performance – Album Release Event and Birthday Show for Chuck Brown at Howard Theatre.
Friday, August 22, 2014 : Official Chuck Brown Day in Washington, D.C.
August, 2014 (TBD) : Ribbon Cutting of Chuck Brown Memorial Park

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us