Detroit Jazz City Blue Note Records Compilation
Detroit Jazz City Blue Note Records Compilation

The Motor City Swings On Blue Note Records new 'Detroit Jazz City' Compilation

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.

It's all about the Motor City on Blue Note Records' newest compilation LP Detroit Jazz City. Comprised of nine tracks from both longtime Detroit local legends like horn players Joe Henderson and Donald Byrd, drummer Elvin Jones and pianist Kenny Cox, and new offerings from the city's current stars like Sheila Jordan and Spencer Barefield, the new release serves double duty as both a long-overdue affirmation of how hard the D swings and a fundraising operation for Focus: Hope, a civil and human rights organization dedicated to ending racism, injustice and poverty through community action. Focus is based directly in Detroit, Focus has a national reach and has worked to improve family food security and job development amongst those who need it most since 1968.

Detroit Jazz City was produced by Blue Note president Don Was. “All of us at Blue Note Records are excited by this opportunity to shine a light on the rich musical legacy of Detroit and on Focus: HOPE who have done so much to help the city's less fortunate residents,” Was wrote in a statement posted to Blue Note's website. “The generosity of everyone involved—from the musicians to the Universal and Capitol Music Groups—makes a very powerful statement about the potential of great music to impact lives on a grass roots level.” The new album is already available for purchase, and you can pick it up either on CD or digitally via iTunes.


1. Marion Hayden – The Uncrowned King

2. Kenny Cox – You

3. James Carter – Many Blessings

4. Joe Henderson – Mode for Joe

5. Marcus Belgrave – Lottie The Body’s Mood

6. Elvin Jones – Reza

7. Spencer Barefield – Ghost Dancers

8. Donald Byrd – French Spice

9. Sheila Jordan – Sheila’s Blues