Unreleased Ennio Morricone Songs to be Featured on Upcoming Compilation

zo Zo is a staff writer at Okayplayer where he covers…
Unreleased Ennio Morricone Songs to be Featured on Upcoming Compilation
(Photo by Mondadori via Getty Images)

The 27-song compilation is due on November 6th.

A handful of previously unreleased songs from the late Ennio Morricone will be included in a posthumous collection of the composer’s work.

According to a press release, the upcoming 27-song compilation, titled Morricone Segreto, will showcase The Maestro’s darker and more psychedelic arrangements recorded between 1960 and 1980, including rarities, alternate takes, and seven recently-unearthed songs culled from the composer’s archives. Segreto Morricone will mark the first posthumous release of the composer’s work since his death in early July of 2020 at the age of 91 from injuries sustained during a fall.

One of the most prolific composers of his generation, Morricone’s catalog features more than 500 soundtracks helmed over six decades, defining the sound of several eras of film; most notably, the Spaghetti Westerns of the mid-60s. Pioneered by director Sergio Leone, the genre’s scores were iconically lush and sprawling and heavily-indebted to the bond between Leone and Morricone, who worked together on some of its most revered titles, including the “Dollars Trilogy,” comprising A Fistful of Dollars, For A Few Dollars More, and The Good, The Bad and The Ugly.

Morricone’s music has also managed a sizable impact on beat-making in hip-hop, embraced as a reliable source for sample-based producers, including RZA, Flying Lotus, and Slick Rick, amongst others.

Hear snippets of the unreleased Ennio Morricone songs in a trailer for Morricone Segreto below. Pre-order a 2xLP copy of the compilation on vinyl via Amazon today ahead of its release on November 6th via CAM Sugar/Decca.

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us