Music scaled
Music scaled
Source: ESPN/The Undefeated

Rapsody and Bilal Connect for "Pray Momma Don't Cry"

Rapsody and Bilal appear on The Undefeated's new compilation album.

On Friday, Rapsody shared a new single with Bilal titled "Pray Momma Don't Cry." The track appears on ESPN's The Undefeated compilation EP of protest-inspired music titled I Can't Breathe: Music for the Movement. Stream the track and the full album below.

"In music form, the EP highlights the social injustice protests taking place in America through the mediums of music and art," the group said in a press release. "The project, a collaboration between The Undefeated and Hollywood Records, reimagines historically significant songs, as well as an original song, by and for Black America with contemporary artists and producers."

The compilation features Terrace Martin, Robert Glasper, Jensen McRae and Keedron Bryant. Today, Rapsody will join Kelly L. Carter to speak about the song and the EP, as well as the importance of music during these tense times.

"Each song has exclusive artwork by created by Black artists," the statement continues. "In a year of reckoning on the matter of racial inequities, as well as a global pandemic and economic downturn, the music reminds and evokes the importance of standing against injustice."

Back in 2018, The Undefeated released its first musical project with Hollywood Records, Rayana Jay's "Undefeated," which highlights the resilience of Black female athletes in defying stereotypes.

The Undefeated Presents I Can't Breathe/Music for the Movement (Tracklist)

  1. Bilal/Rapsody - Pray Momma Don't Cry
  2. Terrace Martin, Alex Isley, and Robert Glasper - People Get Ready
  3. Jensen McRae - Strange Fruit
  4. Keedron Bryant - Mercy Mercy Me (The Ecology)