Pete Rock Announces New Installment of 'Petestrumentals'
Pete Rock Announces New Installment of 'Petestrumentals'
(Photo by Johnny Nunez/WireImage)

Pete Rock Announces New Installment of 'Petestrumentals'

A third edition of the legendary instrumental tape series is on the way.

Pete Rock has announced the next installment of his Petestrumentals series.

READ: "No Leadership, Just Followers!" - Pete Rock on the New Era of Hip-Hop 

Taking to Instagram earlier this week, the Mt.Vernon producer unveiled the cover art and supporting crew for Petestrumentals 3, which appears to be the first sample-less outing of the series. In the post, Pete lists a roster of stalworth musicians that accompany him on the project, including guitarist Marcus Machado, drummer Daru Jones, bassist MonoNeon, keyboardist Big Yuki, and singer Jermaine Holmes. Their combined resumé spans backing duties for Prince (Mono,) D'Angelo (Holmes,) Bilal (Yuki,) and DJ Premier (Jones.)

PLAYLIST: The Round-Up: Best Songs of The Week - ft. Knxwledge, Little Dragon, Megan Thee Stallion and More 

Though a release date was never mentioned, a pre-order link for the album has gone live via Rough Trade with an expected April 18th drop for the first Record Store Day of 2020.

Check out the cover art above and hold tight for more details to arrive in the weeks ahead.