N.E.R.D Reveals Release Date And Cover Art For New Album

N.E.R.D Reveals Release Date And Cover Art For New Album

Pink Floyd's 'The Wall' Meets Dance Punk: Inside N.E.R.D's Comeback Concert And New Album

Photo Credit: Vickey Ford For Okayplayer

N.E.R.D has announced the release date for its forthcoming new album.

HEAR: N.E.R.D And Andre 3000’s Spastic, Glitchy Collaboration “Rollinem 7’s”

No_One Ever Really Dies is dropping on December 15, 2017. Along with announcing the album’s date the album cover has also been released, which depicts someone wearing a tin foil grill.

Okayplayer was in attendance for when the group hosted a very immersive listening event for the album during this year’s ComplexCon. Described as “Pink Floyd’s The Wall meets dance punk” by writer Elijah Watson, the concert went through all 11 tracks on the soon-to-be released album.

No_One Ever Really Dies sounded good for a first listen. A part of that was the detail the trio put into bringing the album to life at this year’s ComplexCon, the spectacle reminiscent of Kanye West’s Yeezy Season 3 Fashion Show (even more fitting considering the dancers were wearing N.E.R.D and Adidas’ collaborative track suit),” Watson wrote. “The entire show felt abrasive but cathartic; dystopian but utopian; and slightly political, a psychedelic flurry of images and sounds that was wildly enthralling.”

Also during ComplexCon N.E.R.D hosted a panel where they discussed their origins, as well as offered some details on the new album, including how they got Andre 3000 on “Rollinem 7’s.”

“It almost didn’t happen,” Pharrell said. “Because I knew if 3 Stacks gave us a verse I knew he was gonna go hard. There’s a bunch of things that need to make sense before he commits to something. He did a verse and he didn’t like it and for me I was like ‘I don’t give a s**t.’ It’s him, he just sounds good.”

Check out the tracklist for No_One Ever Really Dies below.

“Deep Down Body Thirst”
“Lemon” f/ Rihanna
“Voilà” f/ Gucci Mane and Wale
“1000” f/ Future
“Don’t Don’t Do It” f/ Kendrick Lamar
“Kites” f/ Kendrick Lamar and M.I.A.
“Lightning Fire Magic Prayer”
“Rollinem 7’s” f/ André 3000
“Lifting You” f/ Ed Sheeran
“Secret Life of Tigers”

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media