Pitchfork music festival 2015 day 3 6
Pitchfork music festival 2015 day 3 6
(Photo by Daniel Boczarski/Redferns via Getty Images)

Madlib Shares Tracklist and Release Date of Collaborative Album with Four Tet

Sound Ancestors is arranged, edited, and mastered by Four Tet.

Madlib has announced the release date for his upcoming collaborative project with Four Tet.

Per the producer's Bandcamp page, Sound Ancestors is set to drop on January 29th via Madlib Invazion. It will be available in a standard black vinyl edition for $25 and two limited edition colored variant pressings for $40 each. An additional vinyl bundle ($120) includes both limited editions as well as a third "Rust" colored pressing. You can pre-order your copy of the limited edition packages via Rappcats today. Along with the album's release date, Rappcats has shared a full 16-song tracklist and the project's cover art (see both below.) The album's campaign commenced in December with the arrival of the lead single, "Road of The Lonely Ones." And last week, a follow-up arrived in "Hopprock."

Although Sound Ancestors is Four Tet's first full-length collaborative project with Madlib, the British electronic experimentalist is no stranger to reworking The Beat Konducta's suites. In 2005, Stones Throw released an EP of the producer's Madvillainy edits, which also featured the late MF DOOM's  remix-within-a-remix of "Rhinestone Cowboy" (sampling an unreleased Four Tet edit of the song.) On Instagram, the producer (who edited, arranged, and mastered Sound Ancestors,) describes the new album as one "Not made into beats for vocalists to use but instead arranged into tracks that could all flow together in an album designed to be listened to start to finish."

Hear the first two singles from Sound Ancestors below. Scroll on for the album's full tracklist and cover art. Pre-order your copy of the standard LP pressing in The Shop today.

Sound Ancestors Tracklist:

1. There Is No Time (Prelude)

2. The Call

3. Theme De Crabtree

4. Road of the Lonely Ones

5. Loose Goose

6. Dirtknock

7. Hopprock

8. Riddim Chant

9. Sound Ancestors

10. One For Quartabê/Right Now

11. Hang Out (Phone Off)

12. Two for 2 -For Dilla

13. Latino Negro

14. The New Normal

15. Chino

16. Duumbiyay

Madlib Shares Tracklist and Release Date of Collaborative Album with Four Tet Source: Madlib Invazion