Freddie Gibbs & The Alchemist - 1985 (Official Video)

Freddie Gibbs Drops Video for "1985" From Upcoming 'Alfredo' Project With Alchemist

The 10-track project features Tyler, the Creator, Rick Ross, and Benny the Butcher.

After over a decade's worth of ill-fated plans to collaborate, Freddie Gibbs and Alchemist are finally dropping a project. After teasing the project yesterday on Twitter, Freddie made the official announcement by dropping the video for the project's first single. Stream the video above.

The Breaking Bad-esque video finds the two suited up in the middle of the desert. Gibbs discusses his preferred methods of disposing of bodies before the beat starts. Clearly inspired by The Last Dance, the song's title comes from an anecdote regarding Michael Jordan's rookie year.

As the story goes, Jordan was in the team hotel in Peoria, Illinois before a preseason game in the 1984-85 season. When he couldn't find his teammates, he walked the halls searching. Eventually, he stumbled into a drug-fueled party. The documentary's director Jason Hehir referred to the pre-Jordan Bulls as a "traveling cocaine circus." Given Gibbs' lane of expertise and Bulls fandom, the chorus comes as no surprise.

The Alfredo tracklist features many of the usual suspects. Griselda Records' Benny the Butcher and Conway the Machine make guest appearances. Rick Ross appears on "Scottie Beam," and Tyler the Creator adds a verse on "Something to Rap About." The project comes out on the 29th. View the full tracklist below.

  1. 1985
  2. God is Perfect
  3. Scottie Beam (Feat. Rick Ross)
  4. Look At Me
  5. Frank Lucas (Feat. Benny the Butcher)
  6. Something to Rap About (Feat. Tyler, the Creator)
  7. Baby $hit
  8. Babies & Fools (Feat. Conway the Machine)
  9. Skinny Suge
  10. All Glass


Could A Freddie Gibbs and Alchemist Project Be on the Way?

Watch Freddie Gibbs and Madlib Perform 'Bandana' Live With El Michels Affair