46 Years Later, This Earth, Wind And Fire Soundtrack Is Getting Reissued

Elijah C. Watson Elijah Watson serves as Okayplayer's News & Culture Editor. When…
46 Years Later, This Earth, Wind And Fire Blaxploitation Soundtrack Is Getting Reissued46 Years Later, This Earth, Wind And Fire Blaxploitation Soundtrack Is Getting ReissuedEarth, Wind and Fire.

How the partnership came about was courtesy of Peebles’ secretary, who was seeing one of the members of the funk group at the time and convinced Peebles to get in contact with them to help score the film. Ultimately, Peebles decided to work with the group and they composed the soundtrack together, with Peebles projecting scenes from the film as the band performed.

Since Peebles did not have any money to advertise the movie he instead released a soundtrack album in anticipation of the film’s release. Nearly 46 years later and the soundtrack is just as important as the film, with the former showing how integral music could be to a film, as well as foreshadowing the use of sampling in rap music.

The track list for the vinyl reissue can be seen below. Click here to purchase a copy of the release.

Track list:

A1. Sweetback Losing His Cherry
A2. Sweetback Getting It Uptight And Preaching It So Hard The Bourgeois Reggin Angels In Heaven Turn Around
A3. Come On Feet
A4. Sweetback‘s Theme
B1. Hoppin’ John
B2. Mojo Woman
B3. Sanra Z.
B4. Reggins Hanging On In There As Best They Can
B5. Wont Bleed Me
B6. The Man Tries Running His Usual Game But Sweetback‘s Jones Is So Strong He Wastes The Hounds (Yeah! Yeah! And Besides That Will Be Coming Back Takin Names & Collecting Dues)

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us