Source: Artist

Boldy James Announces 'The Versace Tape,' Produced By Jay Versace

The project will be Boldy James' first tape on Griselda Records.

2020 has been a prolific year for Griselda Records. On the heels of a seemingly nonstop stream of releases, Boldy James added to that lineup on Thursday. After his critically-acclaimed The Price of Tea in China tape, James officially signed to Griselda. Today, he announced the impending release of his first project on the label, The Versace Tape. The project drops on August 14.

The project was produced entirely by Vine superstar-turned-producer Jay Versace and executive produced by Westside Gunn. View the full tracklist below.

In the wake of The Price of Tea in China, James dropped Manger on McNichols with fellow Detroiter Sterling Toles. In 2020 alone, Westside Gunn has dropped two projects, Pray for Paris and Flygod Is an Awesome God II. Back in March, Conway the Machine released his joint EP with The Alchemist, Lulu. The releases come after a white-hot 2019 that culminated in the group receiving a BET Award nomination for Best Group.

"It means the world to finally meet some street niggas and emcees who I rock with on a personal and a business level," James said in a press release. "I'm cool, but I'm not a friendly nigga, so if there is not a mutual respect between me and other artists I keep my distance. I got a violent history with drugs and gun violence in my past life that I left behind, so it's just good to know I got some real solid niggas in my corner to create and build with behind the scenes life and in my creative work space."

Boldy James - The Versace Tape (TRACKLIST)

  1. Pony Down (Intro)
  2. Maria
  3. Nu Wave
  4. Cartier (Feat. El Camino)
  5. Brick Van Exel
  6. Long Live Julio
  7. Monte Cristo
  8. Cardinal Sin
  9. Bentayga
  10. Roxycontin (Feat. Westside Gunn, Keisha Plum, & Tiona Deniece)