Dave Chappelle To Receive Prestigious National Humor Award Once Given To Richard Pryor

Elijah C. Watson Elijah Watson serves as Okayplayer's News & Culture Editor. When…
Dave Chappelle Announces New Netflix Special
Source: Netflix
Dave Chappelle Announces New Netflix Special

Source: Netflix

The Chappelle’s Show comedian is the 22nd recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

Dave Chappelle will be honored by the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts as the 22nd recipient of the 2019 Mark Twain Prize for American Humor.

READ: Dave Chappelle Photobombs Ohio Couple’s Engagement Photoshoot

In a report from NBC News, the Kennedy Center announced Tuesday that the comedian will be receiving the honor at the Kennedy Center Concert Hall on October 27, 2019. The event will also include an outstanding lineup of entertainers to help celebrate the occasion, according to the Kennedy Center’s website.

“Dave is the embodiment of Mark Twain’s observation that ‘against the assault of humor, nothing can stand,'” Kennedy Center President Deborah F. Rutter said in a statement. “For three decades, Dave has challenged us to see hot-button issues from his entirely original yet relatable perspective.”

Although the ceremony will take place in October, the program will be broadcast on PBS stations on January 6, 2020. Ticketing information for the event will be available at a later date.

Chappelle joins a handful of comedians who have also received the honor including Eddie Murphy, Whoopi Goldberg, and Richard Pryor. Pryor was the first recipient of the award, receiving the price back in 1998.

The 45-year-old comedian has won two Emmys and two Grammys, and has hinted at making one more comedy special following the release of his four Netflix specials.

Source: NBC News

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us