Warner Bros. Announce Expanded 'Purple Rain' Reissue with Prince's Unreleased "Electric Intercourse"

Warner Bros. Announce Expanded 'Purple Rain' Reissue with Prince's Unreleased "Electric Intercourse"

by zo
April 28, 2017 10:37 AM

'Tribute: Prince' Comic Book Chronicles Artist's Pop And Funk Takeover

After what feels like ages of teasing, Warner Bros. Records has officially announced the release of an expanded deluxe edition of Prince‘s Purple Rain. And it’s even more loaded with goodies than previously assumed. The deluxe edition includes the full digitally-remastered version of the album, plus a full disc of unreleased gems from the mythical vault. The expanded edition doubles down with rehearsal takes and the holy grail Syracuse show from 1985. And it looks like that 32-minute rendition of “I Would Die 4 U” is getting its day on the shelves, finally.

Just to let you know it’s real, the label has released “Electric Intercourse,” a smoke show cut that sees its first appearance studio form. Hear “Electric Intercourse” down below and scroll on to see all that is included in this mammoth rerelease. Pre-order your copy on iTunes today ahead of its official June 23rd release.


Disc One: Original Album (2015 Paisley Park Remaster)
1. Let’s Go Crazy
2. Take Me With U
3. The Beautiful Ones
4. Computer Blue
5. Darling Nikki
6. When Doves Cry
7. I Would Die 4 U
8. Baby I’m A Star
9. Purple Rain

Disc Two: From The Vault & Previously Unreleased
1. The Dance Electric
2. Love And Sex
3. Computer Blue (“Hallway Speech” version)
4. Electric Intercourse (studio)
5. Our Destiny / Roadhouse Garden
6. Possessed (1983 version)
7. Wonderful Ass
8. Velvet Kitty Cat
9. Katrina’s Paper Dolls
10. We Can Fuck
11. Father’s Song


Includes Disc One and Disc Two as Listed Above

Disc Three: Single Edits & B-Sides
1. When Doves Cry (edit)
2. 17 Days
3. Let’s Go Crazy (edit)
4. Let’s Go Crazy (Special Dance Mix)
5. Erotic City
6. Erotic City (“Make Love Not War Erotic City Come Alive”)
7. Purple Rain (edit)
8. God
9. God (Love Theme From Purple Rain)
10. Another Lonely Christmas
11. Another Lonely Christmas (extended version)
12. I Would Die 4 U (edit)
13. I Would Die 4 U (extended version)
14. Baby I’m A Star (edit)
15. Take Me With U (edit)

DVD: Prince And The Revolution, Live at the Carrier Dome, Syracuse, NY, March 30, 1985
1. Let’s Go Crazy
2. Delirious
3. 1999
4. Little Red Corvette
5. Take Me With U
6. Do Me, Baby
7. Irresistible Bitch
8. Possessed
9. How Come U Don’t Call Me Anymore?
10. Let’s Pretend We’re Married
11. International Lover
12. God
13. Computer Blue
14. Darling Nikki
15. The Beautiful Ones
16. When Doves Cry
17. I Would Die 4 U
18. Baby I’m A Star
19. Purple Rain

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media