PREMIERE: Listen to Phat Kat Rap Over One of the Grimiest J. Dilla Beats Ever on the Previously Unreleased "World Premiere"

Hvpmsh1 715x715

Phat Kat has unearthed an unreleased classic

In 2007, Detroit rapper Phat Kat released his sophomore album. Carte Blanche. The album, considered by many to be an underground classic, features production from longtime collaborator J. Dilla, as well as Black Milk and Young RJ.

That album will be re-released this week, hitting streaming services on Friday, July 27 via Below System Records.

There are a couple of nice bonus cuts on the re-release.

READ: The OKP Shop Celebrates All Things Dilla With This Ill “Maestro” Hoodie

And we are ecstatic to premiere one of them today. The track, which is from 1996, is "World Premiere," and it was produced by J. Dilla, during the 1st Down era. (The other bonus cut is "It Don’t Get No Liver Than This," which premiered last month.)

The track stands out as being one of the first times Dilla and Phat Kat worked together. The song, which has this grimy stripped down feel to it, was going to be on 1st Down's album.  But Payday Records, the label they were signed to, folded and the song was lost in the shuffle.

This is the first time the song has been officially released. (Even though there have been janky rips of the track floating around for a couple of years.)

WATCH: J Dilla's Pioneering Production Style On The MPC Is Explored In New Mini Documentary

We reached out to Kat about what people can expect with Carte Blanche. The veteran rapper said:

Fans old and new can expect to be reintroduced to some raw authentic classic Detroit hip-hop from beginning to end.

Phat Kat also mentioned he has some more "unreleased gems" in the stash. Expect those in the future.

Scroll down to check out the world premiere of "World Premiere. And stream Carte Blanche when it re-releases on Friday.

1. Nasty Ain’t It 

2. Get It Started 

3. My Old Label 

4. Cold Steel (feat. Elzhi) 

5. Danger (feat. T3 & Black Milk) 

6. Vessels (feat. Truth Hurts) 

7. Lovely (feat. Melanie Rutherford) 

8. Cash Em Out (feat. Loe Louis) 

9. Game Time 

10. Survival Kit 

11. Nightmare (feat. Guilty Simpson) 

12. Hard Enuff (feat. Fat Ray) 

13. True Story Pt. 2 

14. Don’t Nobody Care About Us 

15. World Premiere (Bonus Track)

16. It Don’t Get No Liver Than This (feat. La Peace) (Bonus Track)