Vic vtape cover new clean
Vic vtape cover new clean
Source: Artist

Vic Mensa Returns to Rap Roots With Seven-Song 'V Tape' EP

The new Vic Mensa EP features SAINt JHN, Snoh Aalegra, and more.

After nearly a year away from music, Vic Mensa has returned with a new project. On Friday, the Chicago MC released the V Tape EP. The project features guest appearances from BJ the Chicago Kid, Peter Cottontale, Eryn Allen Kane, and Snoh Aalegra. Mensa also dropped the video for "Machiavelli," the EP's first single. View the full trak list below.

The new project touches on "battles with depression while showcasing profound levels of consciousness and awareness in his ownership of the missteps, mistakes, and roadblocks he's endured."

The "Machiavelli" video heavily features photography from Chicago-based photographer Angel Harrold and Flynn Drew. Directed by Andre Muir, produced by Manny Caston and Troy G., the film "artfully evokes west African imagery and Gordon Parks-esque street photography to weave a complex narrative of redemption and rebirth."

The project is Mensa's first release since the self-titled collaborative album with his punk band 93Punx. In December 2018, he dropped the Hooligans EP, his third release as a member of Roc Nation.

Earlier this month, Mensa premiered "No More Teardrops," a protest-inspired track during the Lollapalooza livestream. V Tape features production from Thelonious Martin, Keyon Christ, Stefan Ponce, C-Sick, Hit-Boy, Smoko Ono, SC, and TRAKGIRL.

cV Tape is available on all major digital streaming platforms.

Vic Mensa - V Tape (Tracklist)

  1. Vendetta
  2. Machiavelli (Feat. Eryn Allen Kane)
  3. Dirt on My Name
  4. XGames (Feat. Snoh Aalegra)
  5. Bethleham/SC Freestyle
  6. 2Honest (Feat. SAINt JHN)
  7. Rebirth (Feat. BJ the Chicago Kid & Peter Cottontale)

Sign Up To Our Newsletter