OKP News: Soul Train Awards 2012 Nominations

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.Soul Train Awards 2012

Yes, it's time once again for the Sooooul Train Awards, and the newly-announced nominations read like a deck of most-wanted Okayplayer cards, including Robert Glasper, J. Cole and Elle Varner (all nominated in Best New Artist category), to Nas, Esperanza Spalding, Gary Clark Jr., Jimmy Cliff, Santigold, Miguel, Estelle, Eric Benet, Damien Marley, Melanie Fiona, John Legend, Robin Thicke and Marsha Ambrosius (and even a posthumous nod to the unforgettable Amy Winehouse). Hit the jump to see the full list of nominations and may we just say: beacoups congratulations to all the artists being recognized. The Soul Train Awards will be taped at Planet Hollywood in Las Vegas on Nov. 8 and will air on BET and Centric on Nov. 25 at 9PM ET.

Best New Artist

Elle Varner

Emeli Sande

J. Cole

Luke James

Robert Glasper

Centric Award


Esperanza Spalding

Gary Clark Jr.

Leah Labelle


Best Gospel/Inspirational Performance

BeBe Winans- “America America”

Fred Hammond- “I Feel Good”

Marvin Sapp- “My Testimony”

Mary Mary- “Go Get It”

Whitney Houston and Jordin Sparks- “Celebrate”

Best Hip-Hop Song of the Year

2 Chainz ft. Drake- “No Lie”

Wale ft. Miguel- “Lotus Flower Bomb”

Nas- “Daughters”

Kanye West ft. Big Sean, Pusha T and 2 Chainz – “Mercy”

Young Jeezy ft. Ne-Yo- “Leave You Alone”

Best R&B/Soul Female Artist



Keyshia Cole

Mary J. Blige

Melanie Fiona

Best R&B/Soul Male Artist


Robin Thicke

Trey Songz



Album of the Year

The One – Eric Benet

Channel Orange -Frank Ocean

Life Is Good -Nas

Write Me Back -R. Kelly

Looking For Myself -Usher

Song of the Year

Estelle- “Thank You”

John Legend ft. Ludacris- “Tonight (Best You Ever Had)”

Trey Songz- “Heart Attack”

Tyrese- “Stay”

Usher- “Climax”

Wale ft. Miguel- “Lotus Flower Bomb”

The Ashford & Simpson Songwriter’s Award

“Thank You”-Estelle

(Writers: Arden Altino, Akene “The Champ” Dunkley, Jerry Duplessis, Doug F. Edwards, Thomas D. Richardson, Aliaune Thiam)

“Tonight (Best You Ever Had)” -John Legend ft. Ludacris

(Writers: Allen Arthur, Christopher “Ludacris” Bridges, Keith Justice, Miguel Pimentel “Miguel”, Clayton Reilly, John Stephens)


(Writers: Nasir Jones, Ernest D. Wilson, Patrick Adams, Gary DeCarlo, Dale Frashuer, Paul Leka)

“Share My Love”-R. Kelly

(Writer: Robert Kelly)

“Climax” -Usher

(Writers: Usher Raymond IV, Sean “Redd Stylez” Fenton, Thomas “Diplo” Pentz, Ariel Rechtshaid)

Best Dance Performance

Beyoncé- “Love On Top”

Chris Brown- “Turn Up The Music”

Nicki Minaj- “Starships”

Rihanna- “Where Have You Been”

Usher- “Scream”

Best Caribbean Performance*

Cover Drive – “Bajan Style”

Damien “Junior Gong” Marley- “SuperHeavy”

Jimmy Cliff- “Rebirth”

Matisyahu – “Spark Seeker”

Sean Paul – “Tomahawk Technique”

Best International Performance*

Amy Winehouse- “Our Day Will Come”

Daley ft. Marsha Ambrosius- “Alone Together”

Emeli Sande- “Next To Me”

Estelle- “Thank You”

Gotye ft. Kimbra- “Somebody (That I Used To Know)”

Rebecca Ferguson- “Nothing’s Real But Love”

Best Traditional Jazz Artist/Group*

Chris Botti- Impressions

Kenny Garrett- Seeds From The Underground

Melody Gardot- The Absence

The Robert Glasper Experiment – Black Radio

Tony Bennett- Isn’t It Romantic

Best Contemporary Jazz Artist/Group*

Ben Tankard- Full Tank

Brian Culbertson- DREAMS

Cassandra Wilson- Another Country

Esperanza Spalding- Radio Music Society

Peter White- Here We Go