Staple Singers Faith And Grace Cover Art
Staple Singers Faith And Grace Cover Art

OKP Premiere: The Legendary Staple Singers Share A Rare Demo Of "Respect Yourself" + Announce New Box Set

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.

For over fifty years, the music of The Staple Singers has played an electrifying part in American culture--and it all started with just one man. Known simply as Pops Staples, the family's musical man of the house was determined to make it as an artist, and in 1949 sat his family down at home and began to teach them how to perform.

"He sat me and my siblings, Pervis, Cleedi and Yvonne, down on the floor and started to teach us songs," Mavis Staples remembers. "I never thought that that would lead to the career that we’ve had–singing for Dr. Martin Luther King, Presidents Kennedy, Carter, Clinton and Obama, winning Grammy Awards, being inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame…and so much more." For decades to come, The Staple Singers released fulsome soul records like "Respect Yourself," "I'll Take You There," "If You're Ready" and more, forever making their mark amongst the hearts (and swaying hips) of the nation.

Now, Stax/Concord is preparing to release a massive compendium of Staple Singers work, and Okayplayer has the extreme pleasure of debuting one of its rarest archival gems. A limited edition 4-CD box set, Faith and Grace: A Family Journey 1953-1976 will include a 7" vinyl pressing of rare recordings of the Staples family performing "Faith & Grace" and “These Are They,” two of the earliest known recordings of the family in existence, which were originally captured by a family friend in Pops Staples' Chicago basement ca. 1953. Also included in the Faith & Grace bundle--a "45-folio" package that houses a book of liner notes and intimate family photos spanning the band's career.

"I still get surprised when I look in the audience at my shows and see all these young people, whole new generations," Mavis Staples said in a press release "and they want to hear these songs and what I have to say. And it feels so good. I’m truly blessed.”

Here today is an exclusive demo version of the Staples' classic "Respect Yourself," performed by legendary Stax songwriter Mack Rice. Also included is the classic studio version of the tune, which still shimmers in all its '71 glory. Pre-order the four-CD box set of Faith And Grace: A Family Journey 1953-1976 ahead its November 13th release date and get yourself a piece of American soul music history.

Track Listing

Disc 1

1. It Rained Children

2. I Just Can’t Keep It To Myself

3. Each Day

4. God’s Wonderful Love

5. If I Could Hear My Mother Pray Again

6. I’ve Got A New Home

7. Uncloudy Day

8. Come On Up In Glory

9. I Know I Got Religion

10. Swing Down Chariot (Let Me Ride)

11. I Had A Dream

12. Help Me Jesus

13. Low Is The Way

14. This May Be The Last Time [Alternate Take]

15. So Soon

16. I’m So Glad

17. Pray On

18. Good News

19. Downward Road

20. Don’t Drive Me Away

Disc 2

1. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

2. Don’t Knock

3. Medley: Too Close/I’m On My Way Home/I’m Coming Home/He’s Alright [Live]

4. Swing Low

5. Calling Me

6. Stand By Me

7. Hammer And Nails

8. Gloryland

9. Hear My Call, Here

10. Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen

11. New-Born Soul

12. Dying Man’s Plea

13. Great Day

14. There Was A Star

15. Use What You Got

16. Let That Liar Alone

17. I Can’t Help From Cryin' Sometime

18. Blowin’ In The Wind

19. This Land Is Your Land

20. I Know I’ve Been Changed

Disc 3

1. A Hard Rain’s Gonna Fall

2. Masters Of War

3. What Are They Doing (In Heaven Today)

4. Wish I Had Answered [Live At Newport]

5. I’ll Fly Away

6. Tell Him What You Want [Stapleton Singers]

7. Be Careful Of The Stones You Throw

8. Samson & Delilah

9. As An Eagle Stirreth Her Nest

10. Freedom Highway

11. Why (Am I Treated So Bad)

12. John Brown

13. Waiting For My Child

14. It’s Been A Change

15. For What It’s Worth

16. Let’s Get Together

17. Crying In The Chapel [Mavis Staples With The Staple Singers]

18. Long Walk To D.C.

19. Got To Be Some Changes

20. Slow Train

Disc 4

1. I See It

2. The Ghetto

3. When Will We Be Paid

4. God Bless The Children

5. The Challenge

6. Brand New Day [Theme From The Motion Picture The Landlord]

7. Heavy Makes You Happy (Sha-Na-Boom Boom)

8. I Like The Things About You

9. You’re Gonna Make Me Cry

10. Respect Yourself

11. I’ll Take You There

12. This World

13. I’m Just Another Soldier

14. Are You Sure

15. If You’re Ready (Come Go With Me)

16. Touch A Hand, Make A Friend

17. Back Road Into Town

18. Let’s Do It Again

19. The Weight [The Band feat. Staple Singers]

20. Respect Yourself [Demo]

7” track listing:

Side A

1. Faith and Grace

Side B

1. These Are They