Flying Lotus Title
Flying Lotus Title

Flying Lotus Continues His BBC Radio 1 Residency, Spins Kendrick Lamar, Aphex Twin & More

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.

Flying Lotus has at long last returned to the booth at the BBC, continuing his 2015 Radio 1 residency. Lotus brought LA DJ legend The Gaslamp Killer through to deliver a guest mix loaded with white label rarities. Before the tracks hit the deck, GLK tells Lotus what it is that the dreams about--a wild chase running through a beautiful mansion somewhere in California. It's something of a perfect parable for the Radio 1 mix--perpetually in motion within gorgeous surroundings. Throwback funk from David Matthews sets the tone, and very quickly things veer out into atmospheric territory. New material from Aphex Twin, Lapalux, Björk, Thom Yorke and more are on tap, along with joints from Death Grips, Portishead, Electric Wire Hustle and J Dilla.

In the middle of it all, a strange "person" named Jerry Jackson commandeers the station. Is this Flying Lotus toying with us, a voice-altered GLK, or someone (something?) else entirely? The mystery keeps with Flying Lotus's general worldview of keeping things just outside of our predictable comfort zones--and we wouldn't have it any other way. Stay tuned for more from FlyLo's residency the next time it lands upon our Earthling airwaves.

Stream the 2-hour mega mix from Flying Lotus and Gaslamp here, and stay tuned for the next installment in FlyLo's residency.


Stefano Torossi - "Feelings"

Flying Lotus - "Otis"

David Matthews - "Sandworms"

Almendra - "A Estos Hombres Tristes"

Aphex Twin - "Untitled"

Teebs - "Sachi Chords"

Busdriver - "All Day"

Lapalux - "Don't Mean A Thing"

Future Brown - "Talkin Bandz (feat. Shawnna & DJ Victoriouz)"

Arca - "Sheep"

Björk - "Pluto"

Squarepusher - "Rayc Fire"

D Prosper - "The Rain"

Thom Yorke - "The Mother Lode"

Miguel Atwood-Ferguson Ensemble & Flying Lotus - "Drips (Live in LA)"

tUnE-yArDs - "Rocking Chair"

Kloke - "P.H.O.N.E."

DJ Paypal - "You Got Me"

SEGA Sound Team - "Dr. Robotnik's Theme (Boss)"

Evolutionen, Part 2 - "Air"

Doctor Zygote - "Raga"

Portishead - "Small"

Death Grips - "Runway E"

Clams Casino - "Crystals"

LDFD - "Untitled Blingee"

Mile High Club - "Weeping Willow"

LTGL - "Synchronized, Not Talking"

OG Maco - "U Guessed It (Alesia X EPROM Edit)"

Death Grips - "Runway Y"

Wikluh Sky - "Balcan Sex God"

Mophono - "Percolectronique"

MSK & Mrr - "001"

Drumetrics - "MRR - 001"

The Gaslamp Killer - "HALEVA (feat. Amir Yaghmai)"

Karl-Ernst Sasse - "MRR"

Jay Dee - "Unreleased 35"

Dizz1 - "Get 'Em Up (feat. Frank Nitt) (Danny Breaks Remix)"

Electric Wire Hustle - "Bastille"

Beat Spacek - "Alone In Da Sun"

Kendrick Lamar - "The Blacker The Berry"

Aphex Twin - "Untitled"

Oliver the 2nd & Rick James - "Superfreaks"