Erkyah Badu Shares Details + Full Tracklist To Her Upcoming Mixtape ‘But You Cain’t Use My Phone’

Erykah Badu You Cain't Hold My Phone Mixtape Cover Square

Erykah Badu Shares Her Personal Playlist Of Politically-Charged Fela Kuti Cuts

In approximately two days, Erykah Badu will be unleashing her new mixtape upon the world, and while up until this point we’ve been treated to a couple of sonic slices, today fresh details have emerged on the whole damn pie.

In a press release for her new But You Cain’t Use My Phone mixtape, Badu’s campe has revealed that it was fully produced by Zach Witnessin, and was written, recorded and mixed in Badu’s hometown of Dallas, Texas during a period of 12 days. The release also alludes to “several surprises along the way, including a few guests, all of who recorded their contributions in the same bedroom studio.” We’re also notified, (as we already knew) that each song references modern telephone technology and the perpetual connectedness it offers/demands.

We’re also given a preview of what to expect from Badu’s new “TRap & B sound”:

Highly renowned for her forward-thinking, eclectic and cerebral sound, the mixtape expertly weaves Erykah Badu’s trademark soulful vocals with psychedelic soundscapes, Hip Hop-inflected beats, smooth R&B, jazz, art-rock and found sounds into a new genre Erykah describes as TRap & B. Badu and Witnessin dedicated a lot of time to precise mixing work, toying with EQs and other filters so that the sound’s frequency and vibration move in tandem to capture a feeling she refers to as “sympathetic vibration.” Badu also used a tuning fork and Tibetan singing bowls to fine-tune these details, with the goal of creating a sound that brings peace and tranquility to its listener. It is a sound that Badu herself referrers to as a “whole new frequency” for fans.

Peep the full tracklsit below and keep it locked to this here site–you know we’ll be spreading the word as soon as it drops.

But You Caint Use My Phone:

01 Caint Use My Phone Suite
02 Hi
03 Cell U Lar Device
04 Phone Down
05 U Use To Call Me
06 Mr. Telephone Man
07 U Don’t Have To Call
08 Whats Yo Phone Number
09 Dial’afreaq
10 I’ll Call U Back
11 Hello

Want More?

Sign Up To Our Newsletter

Follow Us