Audio Premiere: Emma Donovan & The PutBacks - 'Dawn' LP [Stream]

Audio Premiere: Emma Donovan & The PutBacks - 'Dawn' LP [Stream]

by karaslamb
November 07, 2014 10:00 AM

Acclaimed Vocalist Emma Donovan & Melbourne Rhythm Combo The PutBacks Join Forces To Debut Their Soulful Collection Of Redemption Songs Entitled 'Dawn.'

Acclaimed indigenous Aussie vocalist Emma Donovan and Melbourne rhythm combo The PutBacks have joined forces to record and deliver a debut stream of their soulful compilation of redemption songs entitled Dawn. The first taste of the collection comes ahead of the project’s upcoming November 11th U.S. release via HopeStreet Recordings. The 9-track project is a careening analog mix that packs the explosive punch of classic rock. Driven by brutally honest lyricism, irresistible percussion and a purist’s respect for the funk and soul tradition, Dawn hearkens back to the heyday of Stax and Atlantic Recordings. Combining the sick harmonies and tender sensibilities of r&b with a decidedly sinister edge, Emma Donovan & The PutBacks have created a singular project that will command spins and ultimately stand the test of time. With the release of this project, Emma Donovan forges a path for indigenous Australian soul according to the brutally bluesy and distinctly bright moments of her life as told through song. Check the tracks below to stream the Dawn LP. Scroll down to check out the track list. Pre-order the album via iTunes. Purchase the project on vinyl and CD via hopestreetrecordings.com. Stay tuned for more from Emma Donovan & The PutBacks.

Dawn LP Tracklist:
1 Black Woman
2 My Goodness
3 Dawn
4 Mother
5 Daddy
6 Keep Me In Your Reach
7 Come Back To Me
8 Voodoo
9 Over Under Away

Our Newsletter

Follow us on Social Media