Elzhi Releases New Single "coSIGN" + Long Awaited New LP Set To Drop Next Month

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.

Pardon the lateness on this one, but Elzhi dropped some heat at the end of last week that we don’t want to let slip through the cracks. The Detroit lyricist supreme comes through with “coSIGN” featuring Skonie (with 14KT on the beat). The track is flames, but what comes with it is even more important, a release date for his long awaited album, Lead Poison. While the album has been mired in controversy with angry fans thinking they were cheated by his Kickstarter campaign, ElZhi clears the air with a very in-depth interview with Noisey (a very good read), detailing the reasons for the delay and the demons he’s been wrestling with these last few years. Hopefully now that the album is complete, he can stay on the road to recovery and focus on his mental health.

I’ve been trying to duck this cloud for four years straight.  I know I sound crazy, but honestly, I damn near lost my mind.  I mean just look at me, on some other sh*t.  It’s like I try to shake it, but it always seems to follow me.  I mean it catches up when I walk and it chases me when I run; it even hovers over my shoulder when I’m writing.  To be honest, I’m surprised I finished the album this fast, but now that the albums about to drop and its finally done, hopefully the cloud will drift off, evaporate and disappear.  Or, I’ll finally be able to look up and spot a silver lining.

Lead Poison will be out in March via Elzhi’s label, GLOW365, check the full tracklist, below.

1.) “Medicine Man” (produced by Nick Speed)

2.) “Introverted” (produced by Bombay)

3.) “Weedipedia” (produced by Bombay)

4.) “February” (produced by 14KT)

5.) “Egocentric” (produced by Quelle Chris)

6.) “Two 16’s” (produced by Karriem Riggins)

7.) “Hello!!!!!” (produced by Soledad Brother)

8.) “FriendZone” (produced by Oh No)

9.) “The Healing Process” (produced by Joself)

10.) “Cloud” (produced by Bombay)

11.) “Alienated” f/ Smitty (produced by Joself)

12.) “She Sucks” f/ Chris Dave & The Drumhedz (produced by Agor)

13.) “CoSIGN” f/ Skonie (produced by 14KT)

14.) “MisRight” (produced by Bombay)

15.) “The Turning Point” f/ A Poem By Thabisile Griffin (produced by 14KT)

16.) “Keep Dreaming” (produced by Bombay)