* indicates required
Okayplayer News

To continue reading

Create a free account or sign in to unlock more free articles.

Already have an account?

By continuing, you agree to the Terms of Service and acknowledge our Privacy Policy

Okayplayer Records: Danny! - Payback Is In Stores Now

Lenny Kravitz, Grace Jones, Lauryn Hill, Lion Babe, Thundercat, SZA & More Rock The Afropunk Festival 2015 in Brooklyn, NY.Okayplayer Records:Danny! "Payback" album cover

Alert the media: Okayplayer Records is officially back and bringing new hip hop releases to you. Backer on the block than Quincy. Bakkneffeker than Das bloody Efx. We are the backest, is what I am trying to say. And the best kind of back is definitely Payback--which just happens to be the title of the new studio LP from Danny!; the 3rd in his much-loved trilogy of concept albums (see also: Charm, And I Love H.E.R.) which features cameos from Res, Tanya Morgan, Swizz Beats, Phonte, El-P, Lil B, Blu, Collette and the putney of swope himself ?uestlove--which happens to be the very first new hip hop release from the reborn, all-digital Okayplayer Records label.

And when I say 'new' I mean Payback hit iTunes today and as of today that's the only place you can get it (stay tuned for info on more vendors soon). So by all means enjoy this free 'Best Of' mixtape and watch Danny!s live performance with The Roots on Late Night With Jimmy Fallon. But then go purchase Payback on iTunes here (and true Danny! devotees, don't overlook the non-album cut "Goodbye Love" on the b-side to the "Evil" single). Damn, it feels good to see people up on it.

1. Overture (feat. Chell)

2. Myintrotoletuknow

3. Little Black Boy (feat. Res)

4. Get Up

5. Evil (feat. Gavin Castleton & Amber Rose Tamblyn)

6. Even Louder (feat. Tanya Morgan & Swizz Beatz)

7. Phonte (feat. Phonte)

8. Shit Starters (feat. Agallah, El-P & DJ Kay Slay)

9. Overture Reprise (feat. Chell)

10. Speed

11. Go That-a-Way

12. Misunderstood (feat. Lil B & Blu)

13. I Don't Wanna Hear That Shit (Remix) (feat. 'Sup Boo)

14. Do It All Over Again (feat. ?uestlove)

15. Keep Your Head To The Sky (feat. Collette)

16. Far Away (feat. Collette)

17. Payback (feat. iLLmont)